We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the BEST location for sightseeing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
VAIL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the BEST location for sightseeing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

The Omni is in the perfect location for sightseeing. The hotel is lovely, the rooms spacious and the staff goes out of their way to make sure you have the best stay. We were here only one night but it was certainly worth it and we loved how close the hotel was to everything we wanted to see and do. The parking is expensive but I would still highly recommend the Omni!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AzCatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    478
    158
    77
    38
See reviews for
552
449
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

I travel once a month on business all over the US to hotel and this Omni had the best customer service I have ever had in a hotel! The entire staff was helpful and prompt from the moment we checked in until we left. The air conditioner broke in our room and they tried to fix it 3 times but were unsucessful. They moved us down the hall. Every night room service delivered milk and cookies for the kids for FREE.

The location was fantastic to see all the historical sites in Philadelphia. It was also very close to good dinning in China Town and South Street. Cab rides to far out museums were only $10. The airport was only $28.50 by cab.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atl_traveler_lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Near some of the most historic sites in Philly and the Olde Town section, the location is pretty darn good. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The room had all of the things one looks for in a large hotel. Free wi-fi, decent bed, lots of space, desk, electrical outlets, nice bathroom, etc. but the whole thing felt like it could have used an update.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyPorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2009

Wow - this place is amazing. A friend suggested that we stay in Olde City since it was convenient and very safe...I'm so glad we took his advise. The hotel is conveniently located right on Independence Park and is as luxurious as you'd expect from an Omni hotel. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. Many hotels in the Center City/downtown area can be a bit seedy at night, even though they may look okay during the day, but hotels in Olde City are great at any time since they are very safe and the area is clean and pristine. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Philly for business or pleasure. While this hotel can be expensive, it's worth the money since you are staying in 5-star excellence and in a very nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Everything about the hotel was great. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed. The sink was outside the bath/toilet area and that works really well. The staff was great and was very helpful when we needed help getting to the Phillies game. There can't be a better location for visiting Independence Hall and Park! It is literally one block away.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I recently had a weekend away with my husband in Philadelphia. The Omni hotel was in the perfect location for seeing all of the sites in Philly! The rooms were great, beds comfortable, staff nice, etc! I would stay at this hotel again. Hotel bar is definitely happening on the weekends with wedding parties. Drinks and service there were great. We loved the male bartender who worked Friday night and Sunday afternoon. We didn’t eat at the hotel, but staff recommended some great restaurants nearby (Mercato was the best!!!). I have found Omni hotels provide consistent quality and great service, and the Omni in Philadelphia lived up to this standard!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyroxyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

We were a bit disappointed when the boutique hotels were all booked and we were left with the Omni as our best alternative. Now we see how lucky we were. We had a large spacious room with the best of Philadelphia right outside our door. The service was friendly and helpful, as well. We will now be disappointed in future visits if the Omni is NOT available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing