We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of the Historic District” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of the Historic District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a very nice (although brief) stay at the Omni. It was during the Christmas season so it was nicely decorated and had a warm feel. Family friendly. Its in the center of the Historic District, close to all of the historic sites. Everyone there was very nice, especially Carry the doorman who was there to greet us when we arrived and assist us when we departed. The only downer was that the jacuzzi in the pool/spa area was closed due to some sort of maintenance or repair taking place. The pool itself was nice however.

Room Tip: The views from the higher floors that face Chestnut Street are best. Beautiful views of Independenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyCueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    476
    154
    74
    36
See reviews for
546
448
68
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

OK so starting off with the good... The staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Now the bad...though the bathroom was clean, you can see its age. There was mold in the grout between by the sink. You can also see that at some areas the grout needs replacing. We had the new years eve package which included brunch for two. On the coupon it stayed that gratuity and taxes were included, but we heard one waitress state the opposite. We provided the gratuity. We had an issue with the coupon stating one thing but the wait staff stating another. The food was good, some items were made to order such as eggs and waffles. We could overlook everything else but one thing that made us unhappy was the temperature of the room - it was freezing cold. We could not increase the temperature; though the thermostat was set higher. The windows did not insulate the heat.

Overall, we were not impressed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Touss1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Staff is friendly and attentive. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Hotel is located in the heart of the historic district of Philadelphia. Check in was seamless, as was checkout. The bell and valet services were prompt. We had over 40 guests in town for our daughter's wedding. Each and every guest was pleased with the accommodations offered by The Omni. The front desk staff welcomed each of our guests with a gift bag filled with local Philadelphia treats. Can't wait for our next stay in Center City Philadelphia. We'll be back at The Omni for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed here 4 days while taking a class and found the hotel very friendly, comfortable and conveniently located. Sleep was very important to me and I found the bedding and pillows very comfy, as well as the temperature control for the room. I enjoy a cool room for sleeping and it was great. I did have some trouble with the free internet but opted to use by iPhone instead. It was convenient to have breakfast at the hotel; it was expensive but the service was very quick and the food was good.

Room Tip: My room on the 7th floor overlooking Independence Park was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truannsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Even though we live close by (a suburb of Philadelphia), we try to get to the Omni every year to escape the busy-ness of the holiday season. The Omni is a perfect choice. It's beautiful and well-kept and Old City is a wonderful part of town for walking and dining. When we're at the Omni, it feels like we are truly on vacation, even though we're only 15 miles from home! We cannot recommend any place higher for value, convenience and amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Officiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Wonderful service and staff. We love Omni hotels and stay at them if they are located near where we are traveling. The room at this hotel was very comfortable. What we especially liked was the little extras the hotel provided such as flavored water, hot chocolate, mulled cider and cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I just stayed at the Omni for a wedding, and while the hotel is nice you can tell it's old and a bit outdated. Everyone was so friendly, it was clean, had everything we needed, but it lacked character and was a bit stuffy. The room was huge, but we could hear the person next to us so clearly it was as if they were in the same room as us.

All in all, it was a nice stay but I'd go for some of the newer, trendier hotels in Philadelphia next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayl405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing