We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omni location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“omni location location location”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

picked this over hyatt(even though we are platinum members) for the location. stayed here oct 26
before going to philly called many times to ask about hotel location eateries. since we had never been to the east coast this would be a new adventure. I spoke to Sean and Nina several times
also other front desk help, each time the csr were very informative and helpful. I was already liking
the hotel from the many phone calls. we got to the hotel by the hotels suggestion of using liberty bell shuttle. our first encounter in person was with a very enthusiastic and friendly bellhop name Reggie I think I got his name right the said he was from puerto rico originally, and he was just loving philly and the omni hotel, you could tell he really was a people person and loved his job. then we met Nina another lovely csr who got us checked in and thanked me for the goodies from hawaii, she also helped me over the phone several times when I called from hawaii. Got to our room and we were satisfied with the overall cleanliness and toiletries amenities the hotel offered. The next day we also got to meet David and John both very nice and friendly, this hotel was just oozing brotherly love. So as for the hotel and employees we were satisfied with our choice. we also got a great deal for two double beds for the three of us. Now lets talk about location this hotelwas again my first choice because of the location, there is the monaco right next door, but much higher price. and when your in old city you will be out and about the whole day. omni is very near the visitor center where you get tickets and information from the many park rangers.
it is also near the liberty bell, the hop on hop off bus also goes in this area, city tavern is just
a couple of blocks away. this hotel is so centrally located if you wanted to walk to many places you could. we were very pleased with the omni and will be referring this hotel to people going to philly. on our bus tour we saw hyatt and other hotels but our omni location was the best. even if the hotel was a little older and worn like some other reviewers mentioned, it did not matter to us and we have stayed in some very expensive hotels, because the workers and housekeeping managment to bellhop all the csr is what makes omni the five stars it deserves and the location It more than deserves the five stars also did I mention the area isclean and seemed to be safe, when we walked to city tavern at night we felt safe. so if you are looking to enjoy old city and have easy access to visitor center, liberty bell, hop on hop off bus book the omni rooms go fast.

Room Tip: we asked for view of the historic sight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M8738TIjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    488
    164
    79
    38
See reviews for
557
456
69
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conestoga, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is close to the Federal Courthouse. I was pleasantly surprised when I found that numerous historic sites are within walking distance. I would recommend that you purchase the package deal that includes valet parking and breakfast. The breakfast was a wonderful experience with upscale atmosphere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel check in quick, hotel staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful. Valet parking was perfect. Hotel room was clean and provided all the amenities. Location was perfect, right in the heart of our countries heritage. The room was nice but the bed was hard as a rock and did not get any sleep and therefor had a very un energetic day of seeing Old City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My room was not ready at time of check in, so I decided to wait in the lobby until I had a room. Not 5 minutes later, the staff offered a ready room with different bed sizes than booked for my convenience. I greatly appreciate the thoughtfulness! The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. My only complaint is that the bathroom sink faucet handles leaked onto the counter. I am a woman who traveled alone during my stay, and felt very safe in the area because of the hotel staff who were always very kind and attentive. I did not use valet parking because there is plenty of cheap parking in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My partner and I had a brief overnight stay on a Saturday. We purchased the package with breakfast, parking, champagne, and turndown, which was well worth the price. Nicely updated rooms, and we stayed on the 14th floor with a nice view of the park. I highly recommend getting a higher floor due to some traffic noise. The Gayborhood is a quick 5 minute cab ride. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lobby has a small bar. The breakfast in the morning was very hot, fresh, and flavorful. I recommend signing up for the rewards program - free water, newspaper, and morning beverages, which is a very nice touch...I wish Marriott did the same. Only complaint would be no mini fridge in the room, but this is minor. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor to lessen traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The management of this hotel gets it. I gave the place an excellent not because it is the most beautiful or comfortable room I've been in but because the staff, top down knows there is competition and it is up to them to ensure an excellent guest experience. Doormen, front desk, housekeeping, the manager everyone was great. AND, this hotel is in a great location. So here were a couple of things that happened. 1) Cab driver out front, first in line, acts like he does not understand English or where the address I want is because it is not an airport fare, it just a few blocks away on a cold morning. I go in and tell the manager and he comes out and waves down a cab for me and assists the cab driver to understand he's not welcome to pick up fares there anymore. 2) Housekeeping finds a very small charm I dropped in my room. It was of great sentimental value and it was placed very deliberately where I could see it and it was clear great care was taken to do so. 3) Doormen are probably asked the same question a hundred times about where things are and they treat you like it is the first time they've heard it and give you their full attention as they patiently explain. 4) Concierge had no "buddies" out there when he recommended services that might be over priced or not worth what got charged so honestly recommended the best tourist experience for what you wanted to do.

The room was clean, everything worked. I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor near the elevator and it was quiet and just fine. It was facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Autralia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great, very spacious and clean in a lovely part of Philadelphia. We walked around the old city and took the local bus up the street to go shopping and see other sites. Wonderful hotel great staff.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Topharin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,943 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing