We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and right next to historic visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #26 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice and right next to historic visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

For a vacation to Philly to be close to the historic attractions, this hotel location is perfect. It is about 1 block to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. I stayed at this hotel two weeks in a row for business. The first week I had some issues with my room that the staff tried diligently to fix, but eventually just moved me to a new room with no problems. The hotel went the extra mile to make things right. I ate at the restaurant twice and I would say that breakfast was the better meal. Rooms and bathrooms are large and clean. All of my rooms had a sitting area and a good work desk. Room service was quick and pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieRoberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    478
    158
    77
    38
See reviews for
552
449
68
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our four day visit to Philly. The Omni is located directly in the center of all of the historic sites. Two minutes from the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall. The Reading Terminal market is a 5 to 10 minute walk. There are several very good family friendly restaurants close by as well. The staff are all very helpful and they really go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. They provided activity packs for the kids and delivered milk and cookies to the room on the night we arrived. The pool is small but very nice. The room are okay but nothing special. They were very clean. Parking can be expensive at $37/day with valet and $27/day self park. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roctraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Wonderful Olde City location in the heart of historic Philadelphia, walking distance to many attractions. Excellent hotel staff, friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, very satisfied with our accommodations! If you are fortunate to experience the Sunday Brunch is is fabulous! Was here for a family wedding but this was our second time and we would return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent location very close to many historical sites. Stayed previously at the nearby Best Western. The Omni had a much larger room and a pool. The cost was very reasonable. I've spent much more for rooms of far less quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel to stay in for the Old City/Independence Park area. We stayed in a Basic King room and it was spacious, modern and clean. The bathroom was large as well, with a nice shower. We also had a great view of the city!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in August 2013 on company business. Hotel is showing its age. It is nothing special & over priced, but it was company paid. Best selling point is the excellent location right in the middle of the major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in this awesome hotel for a week, while on a business trip. The family loved everything about the hotel. Great location, right next to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. They have a small fitness center and pool which was nice. The room was fairly large, ours had a king bed and pull out couch. Every interaction with hotel staff was pleasant. In the lounge the have happy hour that has $3 beers and $5 appetizers. Probably the only negative would be no refrigerator or microwave in the rooms. Parking was a little high also, but isn't it always.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing