We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just got here today but already wanted to write!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Top things at this hotel-- 1) PRIME location (can't say enough about how conveniently located it is) and 2) amazing, friendly service!!!!

My husband found a deal on Expedia about a month ago for about $135/night which is great. Got here no problem... today!! :) Immediately welcomed in by Andy -- I guess you would call him the bellhop, but he's so much more than that..... Beyond nice, passionate and enthusiastic about the hotel and the city. Started it off so well!! Then I worked with Christina at the front desk, told her last minute that it was our anniversary on the 9th and I can't believe what she immediately did for us-- changed our hotel room to top floor, gave us two breakfast vouchers and had champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries sent to our room.... What????? Sooo nice!!! She even called to make sure everything was great in the room.

My only critique of he hotel is its decor. It's absolutely fine, clean and acceptable, but not really modern. It's a very standard hotel look, nothing botique-y or trendy like a W Hotel for instance. But can't really complain otherwise!!!

Having a great time!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location is a block or two from the Liberty bell, Constitution Hall, the visitors center and Independence Hall, the Quaker meeting hall, the burial place of Ben Franklin, museums and many more important sights. All tourists busses and walking tours are just a couple of blocks away as are great restaurants. Since the hotel is a block off of the tourist sites it is amazing how quiet it is! It is located across from a beautiful classical columned marble building that was one of our first national banks and a lovely park. Amazing to have green space in the heart of the city and the Delaware river is just beyond. The rooms are large, and traditionally decorated, fresh and clean. Excellent gym, helpful staff and a great breakfast room with very nice food, easy to catch a cab and the red owl tavern right next door with a very cool rooftop bar. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would happily stay there again!

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weberdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came for the 4th of July and what a great location. The hotel was within walking distance to everything. Great local restaurants abound and did I say everything is in walking distance? The staff is very professional and the rooms were well appointed. A Philly must!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knyosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I am really glad we booked the Omni Hotel in Philadelphia. The location is great - extremely close to all the tourist attractions and the hop on and hop off tourist bus. We had a very large room overlooking the Delaware River on the 11th floor. All staff were extremely friendly and nothing was a trouble. I would strongly recommend this hotel. There is an old world charm to the decor. The gym is perhaps one of the best hotel gyms I have encountered. This hotel has everything going for it. We stayed at over 20 hotels in our 6 week holiday throughout Canada and USA and I would rate this as being in the top 3 hotels we have stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Delaware River (preferably on a corner position. The views are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyTraveller_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We reserved a room at this property with two queen beds. We were traveling with our 2 kids and need that sleeping set up. When we arrived, the desk person said all of those were sold out and we had a room with a King and a pull out. After a day of travel, we were less than pelase to consider sleeping three in one bed. Asked for the manager who imediately gave us another king bed room and solved our problem. They actually let us keep that arrangement the entire stay so we did not have to move all of our stuff a second time.
Great location as well

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a lovely stay in Philadelphia. The hotel was a high point thanks to very friendly service, perfect location, and thoughtful extras. Every night the staff brings up complimentary milk and cookies for the kids, and every morning they left 2 complimentary beverages of our choice at our door at a time selected by us. What a nice touch! We ate in the Azalea restaurant for breakfast and it was just as nice.

We stayed on a Deal Chicken special rate which made this a real steal. Even with this third party booking check in was still a breeze and express checkout flawless.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our stay in Philadelphia was so amazing!! The Omni Hotel is directly across the street from Independence Hall! We felt safe in the city & had easy access to our touristy destinations by foot :) The service at the Omni was top notch!! The front desk was welcoming, our room was ready (& faced Independence Hall!), the Concierge was welcoming & very helpful, the valet guys were prompt, the restaurant was grand with good food & wine & the waitstaff was sweet, and our every need was catered to :) I travel frequently & highly recommend the Omni Hotel if you are visiting Philadelphia!!! We will definitely return :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Independence Hall :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous327_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $147 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing