We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed this past weekend and was warned in advance that the spa and pool were under construction but the gym was still usable. The gym seems like it was a little neglected (no towls, no way to clean off machines) during the construction but it was a nice gym. The rooms are large and comfortable and it's a great location. The valet guys were nice although they forgot that we had called down for our car making us a little late when we were leaving. Having stayed at the newly renovated Kimpton next door in November and the Omni in January, I'd go back to the Kimpton.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paymoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

this is my first review ever/ the hotel from the start was great / from the friendly greeting to the spacious and pin neat rooms/ to the lobby bartender who make a great margarita and is a wealth of knowledge as to both dining and attactions/ i don't think i asked one question that someone didn't have acopmplete and accurate answer/ kudus to the staff/ jpk sister bay wi

Room Tip: if you can get a room on chestnut st the view would be better/ also higher up in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed a lot of special treatment from a hospitality manager named Christine. I have to say that after letting them know about an event for which I was in town with a younger family member, they made us feel very familiar and warm.

The pool and work out facilities are under construction and you will not see that listed anywhere, so if you expect to use those facilities - ask if its open.

Otherwise, the room had a great view of the birthplace of our nation but the noise does carry up from the street below. The bed is very comfy and the room was very dark and generally quiet.

You will not be disappointed with the location, the service and the overall upkeep of the room if you stay here. A fine value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAL94105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

from the moment of arrival to departure, we felt special. the location is fantastic! walking distance to all things 'historical'. it is only 2 blocks from the liberty bell exhibit. nor is it a far walk from the famous restaurant row aka south street.
this hotel has definitely been added to the 'do it again' list. i enjoyed all the perks of being a select guest member for sure. i think my stay would have been just as enjoyable had i not as i have stayed at their jacksonville property as well years ago.
this visit i enjoyed a corner room with the most vibrant view. it almost felt 360. i could see penn's landing and more. the bed was so comfy. after walking around for hours i really needed a soft landing! lol i appreciated having the bose clock/radio. there was a bit of staining in the bathroom tub. however that didn't take away from the experience. plus i don't know how they did this: heated towels (maybe it was the steam)! it was heavenly!!! go stay you'll enjoy. the brunch was very tasty with many stations offering hot and cold dishes including complimentary specialty beverages. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful . it felt very genuine. you wont regret your time here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saphronia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My sister from Scotland and I had 3 wondefull days in Phili and the Omni was fabulous!! enjoyed the Pool, and the evening drinks and dinner at the lobby bar were just what we wanted after a busy day. The Bartender/waiter remembered our drinks and preferences from one night to the next and even poured us a drick after he had closed and cleaned up after we came back late from the Theater. Room was on the corner of the hotel and with 3 huge windows had great light and views, right next to the Liberty bell, Hall and blocks from visitors center.....really super location!! helpfull staff and comfortable beds. and Taxis at the door!

Room Tip: go up to minimize traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewisMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We booked through a very affordable package deal - and boy was this a value! Hotel is nice, clean, and service is great. Valet especially. Perfect location, although we had dinner on the other side of the city. The pool and gym, although small, are tidy and very comfortable. Only complaint is that breakfast is far too expensive, though this is generally to be expected from a hotel restaurant. Next time we will be sure to try the spa. I would reccomend, even for someone paying full price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked our stay through Priceline and received a pretty good deal. Of course, we were expecting a little less and were very pleasantly surprised by the accommodations and fantastic staff. Our entire stay was incredibly enjoyable and I highly reccomend this Omni location.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,393 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $177 - $1,490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing