We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value; perhaps rough around the edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2011

For the most part, this hotel lives up to Omni's standards of taking an older luxury property and offering very close to a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton experience at 50% of the price. There were a few misses, mainly staff training issues, I expect, but we had a very nice stay. The issues were quickly resolved and the staff was very nice. Rooms at this property are good sized. Very high quality linens, bedding and towels. Bathroom is high quality, although on the small side for true luxury property (but, it appears to be a rehab of an older property, so, that is to be expected.) The location is great for business or history travelers. The bar is small, but very pleasant. Morning coffee on time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2011

This hotel did not meet expectations for the rating and price. The location is terrific, and the service is very good, but the building is starting to feel run down. There was significant mold in the bathroom (both on the wall and on the shower curtain). And there was a long black hair in my scrambled eggs at breakfast. When I pointed this out to the server, she gave me the breakfast for free, but still. I've stayed at 5-6 different hotels in Philadelphia over the years & I can say there are definitely better options available. I'm not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank cfischer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your most recent stay at the Omni Hotel at Independence Park. I am sincerely sorry for the poor food quality and cleaning oversight in your guest room. We strive every day to improve our customers experience and take great pride in providing a flawless stay.

We have reviewed your experience with the appropriate department managers and will strive for nothing less than a perfect stay. We would love the opportunity for you to try the Omni Hotel again, please give me a call directly on your next visit to Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Christopher Laufer
Director of Sales and Marketing
-----------
---------

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved this hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the location was perfect. We left an item behind, and they went to great lengths to recover it and mail it to us. If you stay here, be sure to try Mrs. K's, which is a diner just a few steps away. We had breakfast there the first day, and loved it so much, we went back again. Great ambiance, service and food. It was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAjazzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was actually my second stay with the Omni Hotel at Independence Park in Philadelphia. This time we stayed on the 11th floor for 5 nights and have no complaints. The first time here was with my hubby and this time it was a girls' getaway. We used room service at night a couple of times. It came quickly and they set up a table for us - delicious and warm food. We ate in their restaurant for breakfast each morning and had lunch a couple of times. It's kind of odd that they don't serve dinner in the restaurant but you can order it in the bar or via room service. Valet for the car was $37 a night and I believe self park was $27 a night. The room was a nice size with two queen beds, two comfy chairs, a desk, and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was nice but I was disappointed to find a tub/shower combination. Since we were there for sight seeing, it was perfect within walking distance of Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, and so many things. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here on labor day weekend, we were able to check in early and get a late checkout which was really convenient. It's proximity to Independence Hall/Park and all of Center City /Old city was perfect. We flew in, the airport taxi was 28.50 each way and everything else was in walking distance. We did take the Phlash trolley out to zoo and Art museum which was just a 2 block walk to catch the shuttle which was $10.00 all day for a family of 4. The hotel room was nice and spacious. The pool is in the spa which made it feel more tranquil and relaxing. The hot tub was spa like, very soothing after a day of walking tours. Everything about the hotel was nice, clean and comfortable. We had a room facing the street, you could see Independence hall from our room. We did not have any street noise problems or any noise problems at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KYbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Booked through expedia, got reasonable rate, showed up Sun before Labor Day, check-in/out were easy, room nice size, clean and great bed. Overall great value and location central to all the key historic places. Only issue was the AC unit leaked overnight and a substantial part of the carpet in that side of the room was wet. I suspect it's happend before recently. But did not affect our trip since we were checking out that day. Parking garage attached to building behind hotel, so no need to valet for $37 when you can do yourself for $25/24hrs.

Room Tip: 14th Fl was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Omni Hotel for a quick overnight trip with our 2 kids (ages 8 and 9) to see the sites of Philadelphia. The location, in terms of visiting the historic sites of Philadelphia - was excellent! Everything was within walking distance and very easy to manage. It was also very convenient for public transportation to watch a Phillies vs. Nationals game. There were many good restaurants in the are.a. We, unfortunately, stayed in a 3rd floor room facing the street, so there was a lot of road noise. In addition, we did find the walls to be rather thin - both my husband and I were up until past 2 am while our neighbors on one side were entertaining other guests and talking into the early morning (not even that loudlly!). Valet parking was pricey, but probably standard for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $146 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing