We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved this hotel. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the location was perfect. We left an item behind, and they went to great lengths to recover it and mail it to us. If you stay here, be sure to try Mrs. K's, which is a diner just a few steps away. We had breakfast there the first day, and loved it so much, we went back again. Great ambiance, service and food. It was a great way to start the day!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAjazzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    492
    164
    79
    39
See reviews for
561
459
69
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

This was actually my second stay with the Omni Hotel at Independence Park in Philadelphia. This time we stayed on the 11th floor for 5 nights and have no complaints. The first time here was with my hubby and this time it was a girls' getaway. We used room service at night a couple of times. It came quickly and they set up a table for us - delicious and warm food. We ate in their restaurant for breakfast each morning and had lunch a couple of times. It's kind of odd that they don't serve dinner in the restaurant but you can order it in the bar or via room service. Valet for the car was $37 a night and I believe self park was $27 a night. The room was a nice size with two queen beds, two comfy chairs, a desk, and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was nice but I was disappointed to find a tub/shower combination. Since we were there for sight seeing, it was perfect within walking distance of Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, and so many things. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovemyAcura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here on labor day weekend, we were able to check in early and get a late checkout which was really convenient. It's proximity to Independence Hall/Park and all of Center City /Old city was perfect. We flew in, the airport taxi was 28.50 each way and everything else was in walking distance. We did take the Phlash trolley out to zoo and Art museum which was just a 2 block walk to catch the shuttle which was $10.00 all day for a family of 4. The hotel room was nice and spacious. The pool is in the spa which made it feel more tranquil and relaxing. The hot tub was spa like, very soothing after a day of walking tours. Everything about the hotel was nice, clean and comfortable. We had a room facing the street, you could see Independence hall from our room. We did not have any street noise problems or any noise problems at all. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KYbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Booked through expedia, got reasonable rate, showed up Sun before Labor Day, check-in/out were easy, room nice size, clean and great bed. Overall great value and location central to all the key historic places. Only issue was the AC unit leaked overnight and a substantial part of the carpet in that side of the room was wet. I suspect it's happend before recently. But did not affect our trip since we were checking out that day. Parking garage attached to building behind hotel, so no need to valet for $37 when you can do yourself for $25/24hrs.

Room Tip: 14th Fl was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Omni Hotel for a quick overnight trip with our 2 kids (ages 8 and 9) to see the sites of Philadelphia. The location, in terms of visiting the historic sites of Philadelphia - was excellent! Everything was within walking distance and very easy to manage. It was also very convenient for public transportation to watch a Phillies vs. Nationals game. There were many good restaurants in the are.a. We, unfortunately, stayed in a 3rd floor room facing the street, so there was a lot of road noise. In addition, we did find the walls to be rather thin - both my husband and I were up until past 2 am while our neighbors on one side were entertaining other guests and talking into the early morning (not even that loudlly!). Valet parking was pricey, but probably standard for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We came to Philly for a wedding with little time and money to spend. This hotel gave great service at a great price. Everyone was helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was lovely--a terrific view and comfortable beds. We didn't have a chance to use the spa but we toured it and it looked fantastic. Side note: as we got out of our car after a 4 hour trip my 10 year old threw up in front of the hotel. The staff not only cleaned it up before I could turn around but they asked after her health and comfort through the next day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend in Philadelphia and the Omni Hotel was even better than we expected. From the moment we arrived, starting with the doorman, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze! The hotel was a very good value for the price. Our room was on the seventh floor at the end of the hall, the views were good, the room was extremely spacious, and VERY clean. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was also large, clean, and the shower head and water pressure were both perfect. The room was also very quiet.

The hotel is literally right next door to the liberty bell, and you can easily give yourself a walking tour of the other nearby historic attractions. There are some great restaurants nearby and we were even within walking distance of Geno's and Pat's steaks, just in case you want to take the famous Philly cheese steak challenge.

For the price we paid, we thought the Omni Hotel was a great overall value, and would definitely stay there again the next time we are in Philly. Why take a risk somewhere else? I even signed up for the Omni hotel rewards program and plan to look at other Omni Hotels when traveling elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our corner room was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaPulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing