We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience, good vlue, minor maintenance issues witjh AC leak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Booked through expedia, got reasonable rate, showed up Sun before Labor Day, check-in/out were easy, room nice size, clean and great bed. Overall great value and location central to all the key historic places. Only issue was the AC unit leaked overnight and a substantial part of the carpet in that side of the room was wet. I suspect it's happend before recently. But did not affect our trip since we were checking out that day. Parking garage attached to building behind hotel, so no need to valet for $37 when you can do yourself for $25/24hrs.

Room Tip: 14th Fl was quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EWtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 1,667 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Omni Hotel for a quick overnight trip with our 2 kids (ages 8 and 9) to see the sites of Philadelphia. The location, in terms of visiting the historic sites of Philadelphia - was excellent! Everything was within walking distance and very easy to manage. It was also very convenient for public transportation to watch a Phillies vs. Nationals game. There were many good restaurants in the are.a. We, unfortunately, stayed in a 3rd floor room facing the street, so there was a lot of road noise. In addition, we did find the walls to be rather thin - both my husband and I were up until past 2 am while our neighbors on one side were entertaining other guests and talking into the early morning (not even that loudlly!). Valet parking was pricey, but probably standard for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We came to Philly for a wedding with little time and money to spend. This hotel gave great service at a great price. Everyone was helpful and accommodating to our needs. The room was lovely--a terrific view and comfortable beds. We didn't have a chance to use the spa but we toured it and it looked fantastic. Side note: as we got out of our car after a 4 hour trip my 10 year old threw up in front of the hotel. The staff not only cleaned it up before I could turn around but they asked after her health and comfort through the next day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laboucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend in Philadelphia and the Omni Hotel was even better than we expected. From the moment we arrived, starting with the doorman, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Check in was a breeze! The hotel was a very good value for the price. Our room was on the seventh floor at the end of the hall, the views were good, the room was extremely spacious, and VERY clean. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was also large, clean, and the shower head and water pressure were both perfect. The room was also very quiet.

The hotel is literally right next door to the liberty bell, and you can easily give yourself a walking tour of the other nearby historic attractions. There are some great restaurants nearby and we were even within walking distance of Geno's and Pat's steaks, just in case you want to take the famous Philly cheese steak challenge.

For the price we paid, we thought the Omni Hotel was a great overall value, and would definitely stay there again the next time we are in Philly. Why take a risk somewhere else? I even signed up for the Omni hotel rewards program and plan to look at other Omni Hotels when traveling elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our corner room was large and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

When we arrived our room had a temperature of 83 degrees, the air conditioning was on but blowing hot air. so we called down, and someone was up quickly. they chage a filter and it did not work so they changed our room. The air conditioning in this new room was ok but the faucet on the bathroom sink was very loose and the sink was clogged. Someone came up and this time seemed to be annoyed but work on the faucet and tighted it and said they unclogged the sink but after one minute of running the water the sink clogged up. We did not bother them again until we saw that the pool was milky white. We tried to ask the attendant at the spa why the pool was white and were told to wait until she finished her obviously personal conversation on the phone. when she finished she look at the pool and said that it was just a little cloudy. Ok so we were not about to get into that pool. We went to check out the well advertised in- house restaurant to find that they do not serve dinner in the summer months, huh??? that did not make much sense to me but whatever, there were plenty of restaurants in the area. Our room was nice but hard to see out of the nice picture window because it was really dirty and probably never cleaned. All- in -All a nice hotel with some minor issues, and lacking attentive staff. I guess for over 200 bucks a night I expected more than just a beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy13386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Make sure you get there early since most sites close 4pm. I also recommed having a drink at City Tavern. They also have a great art musuem but give yourself at least three hours.

Room Tip: High floors give great views of the water and historic district
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for one night and was pleased with the location, the staff, room and food. The location was very convenient to the historical offerings all within walking distance. Staff was courteous and helpful. Only ate breakfast and that was very good. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewestonchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $147 - $1,196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing