We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but a little pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but a little pricey”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Loews for a wedding. The staff was very nice and extremely helpful as we were running late to check in and begin the wedding festivities. They walked me through where in the hotel each event was taking place and at what time. The room was very nice and modern. No complaints. It's more than we would typically spend for a hotel though on a regular trip. The wedding was at the hotel though and I can't complain about the quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funsunandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so delighted you found our staff very nice and extremely helpful and we appreciate your time in completing this review. While our prices are quite competitive and similar to other hotels in the area. Loews Philadelphia hotel prides itself on offerings nothing but the best of service to our guest and we pleased to see we accomplished that with you during your recent stay.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,982
    1,404
    433
    188
    133
See reviews for
1,115
1,207
234
1,978
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We love the hotel. Great rooms and excellent staff. Star Service was terrific. The location is outstanding and we will definitely stay there again in the future. We did not use the health club or the restaurant. Although the weekend was on one of the busiest in the year, this did not prevent the hotel staff from providing oustanding service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments about your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our great rooms, excellent staff, and our outstanding location. We take great pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations and making each visit with us one that is supremely comfortable.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My boyfriend proposed to me at Loews on 03/15/13 and he would not have been able to do it without the help of the hotels staff. Everyone came together to make this a remarkable and memorable and romantic experience for us. Let me begin with the valet parkers, they were very nice and courteous. They have a spa on the 5th floor called Breathe. The staff is friendly, the atmosphere is very serene, its clean and soothing. The lobby smells of freesia, smelled so rich, it was clean. We had the govenors suite. It was huge, the room was clean and the bed was so comfortable. Miranda was the concierge and she just made everything come together. She made sure the rose petals (which were real) were all layed out spelling the words "Marry Me?" on the bed, with a trail leading from the door. They took pictures of everything for us. Room service was on time. It was magical! And all over the building, the staff was just randomly wishing us well and it all felt so sincere. Each of the staff members at the front desk, signed a personalized card for us with a gift of seeds to plant in our garden that symbolizes the begining and floursihing of our new love... The staff at Loews was amazing! Im glad he chose Loews. It was super expensive... But it was worth it for one night with the man I will be spending the rest of my life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ateerys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your great review and allowing Loews Philadelphia Hotel to be a part of your proposal story. We are proud and pleased to hear that our staff of service professionals represented the Loews Brand very well by providing a memorable experience to you and your fiancé. I will be sure to share your comments with Miranda as well as our entire staff. Congratulations on your engagement and we hope you will visit us again for your honeymoon.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Lowes Philadelphia while in town for my son's graduation from Temple University. The experience was A+.

The location can't be beat. We took the airport train directly from PHL to Market East Station. The cost was $7.00 per person. The hotel is across the street from the station. The Market Street Subway line is also steps from the hotel. The Broad Street Line is just down the block at City Hall.

Reading Terminal Market is just behind Market East Station. This enclosed bazaar of shops, restaurants, bakeries and vegetable stands has food for every taste.

Philadelphia is a fantastic walking city and the hotel is close to the the great restaurants and shopping near 13th and Walnut. Rittenhouse Square is about a 20 minute walk.

The staff is excellent. We received only superior service from the doorman to the maids. The concierges were very helpful in recommending restaurants.

My wife enjoyed the afternoon complimentary lemonade and spa water.

The rooms are modern in design with very nice furnishings. We had a King room. There was a peninsula style desk with two chairs. We also had an nice chair and ottoman. Having a phone in the bathroom is always an extravagance and one I did not take advantage of.

The air conditioner kept the room comfortable. TV worked great. There was also an ipod or iphone charging clock radio available. And they provide really nice robes in the bathroom.

Our room had a beautiful view looking east toward New Jersey.

I will definitely return to the hotel on my next trip to Philly,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for the A+ review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient and our staff “excellent”. A “Four Diamond and More” experience is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve as a brand. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Philadelphia in the near future.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights here when visiting for Penn graduation. The location is great as a downtown location (it's not adjacent to Penn)--very close to stores, restaurants and Reading Terminal Market (don't miss!). We had two rooms--1008 and 1002. 1008 was a perfect room--quiet, comfortable, a mix of down and non-down pillows, etc. 1002 was less desirable as it was close to the elevator and quite noisy. Also, the TV is placed on a wall not facing the bed so watching TV is very awkward. Oddly, there weren't any down pillows in this room either so our experience in this room wasn't as pleasant as that in room 1008.

In addition to having a very comfortable experience in 1008, the best thing about the hotel is the staff--incredibly pleasant, upbeat and ready to help. Everyone we encountered was fabulous.

I do recommend this hotel--just consider not getting a room near the elevator and, if you want a down pillow, ask!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator if you want quiet and, if you care about TV placement, inquire as to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We appreciate your review of the hotel and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, and its close proximity to all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer. Our staff and the general warmth and quality service is standard at the Loews. We feel our employees best represent what it is we offer at our hotel, that is a four-diamond and MORE attitude towards exceeding guest expectations and a uniquely local flair in all we do. Your feedback is what keeps us on our toes, constantly looking for new ways to enhance the guest experience, so again we would like to thank you for your review of the hotel and for sharing your experience with us.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Loews as tourists. The room was very good with two large beds, good bathroom and in general all the facilities were good and well maintained. The internet it is not included in the price, it is expensive and was slow enough to be difficult to wach TV from our country in my laptop. We didn't tryed the restaurant once it was empty when we arrived in second day to have the breakfast. So we went outside where we can find lots of restaurants because in fact the Loews is well located. About the service we don't have anything special to say, once nobody talk with me by name and it was the opposit. Phily one of the concierges does't recognize me 15 minutes after receiving a gratuity to do is job. Conclusion my ideia about the Loews Philadelphia is it is a good four stars hotel, well located but expensive for the service supplyed to the guests.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable insights concerning your recent visit with us here at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and your very good room. I was disappointed you found our staff not as engaging. We take great pride in exceeding our guest’s expectations and making each visit with us one that is supremely comfortable and we failed to do that on your visit. Please except our apologies. I will be sure to share your thoughts with all our department managers.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I rated the hotel a 2 because it is not all negative. It is very clean. But other than that, not that great. The internet is expensive, and TERRIBLE. When you connect, it crawls. It makes you reconnect seemingly every few minutes. The bar is expensive, the restaurant too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gratefulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean C, General Manager at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your post. We are pleased to hear that your room as very clean. But I see that your stay was not exceptional. I would like to apologize for the quality of our internet service in your room. This is not typical of Loews standard. We will be sharing your comments with our IT Manager to makes sure your we provide a better quality of service. We do hope you will visit us again.

Sean Clancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
798 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing