We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Service was horrible. They had one guy checking people in for three wedding parties. Parking was $43 and they just park your car on the street rather than tell you the garage is full. Sound proofing in rooms god awful. It was like listening to an episode of the Jersey Shore. Stay away!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseygirl3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,756
    1,346
    402
    177
    119
See reviews for
1,017
1,139
224
1,850
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (990)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I visited this Loews for a conference. Conference facilities were very comfortable and nicer than many other hotels I've been to. The rooms are large, comfy, and clean. Though I found the decor a bit cold, the warmth and friendliness of the staff more than made up for that. I enjoyed several meals in the hotel restaurant and was never disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyB_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are so pleased that you found our staff to be so warm and friendly and our conference facilities for comfortable. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

In Philly for a couple of days. Stayed with family at Loews. Nice. Comfortable. Big rooms. Clean. great staff. Nice restaurant/bar. Great access to all things, Philly--including Reading Market, the Bell, etc.. Also--hit 13th Street for restaurants. Really cool part of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrolleyDodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. And for the “In the Know” tip about the great restaurants in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great stay. Excellent service. Kind and friendly to all of my offspring --- teens and dogs! Not easy. As dogs are ...... Well, dogs. And teens are .... Well, teens. Both - pampered and tolerated. Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia for your recent visit. We are so pleased that you and the dogs and the teens felt so pampered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Loews for a wedding. We had stayed here many years ago and was not impressed, so I was very skeptical, but since this was where the wedding was being held we opted to take a room here. This stay was very nice and changed my opinion of this hotel. Parking in the garage was easy and quick. Because of the location, you really dont need to move it once you park. Check-in was easy and we were on our way to our room. We had a high floor (23) and a nice view of the city. The room was a nice size and so was the bathroom. The room was very clean! The bed was soft and comfortable. There wasnt many down sides to Our stay, just a few: the windows were so dirty (outside) that it was difficult to see out, the water pressure could have been better and the in room water was $5.50 a bottle!
Overall this is a really nice hotel in a very good location in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review, we are happy to hear your opinion has changed. We hope to see you back with us in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was the first hotel my girlfriend and I stayed that that all of the employees greeted you and told you to have a nice day even if they were just stepping out of an elevator. It was also the first hotel that the bell hop gave a small tour of the hotel while bringing us up to our room. I was extremely satisfied with our stay. However after checking out the menu prices at Sole Food the prices were exorbitant which is why we didn't eat there. If we did come back we would definitely stay here again. The price is a little high though. One of the most expensive hotels we've stayed at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia and for this great review. We take great pride in our employees and their attention to the needs of our guests. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,201 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing