We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Loews Philadelphia was a wonderful choice for my recent convention attendance. The staff was so professional yet friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for quiet rooms, convenient convention location and a feeling of being cared for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you very much for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,596 - 4,602 of 5,536 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Over the weekend was in town for a college football game and quick sightseeing jaunt. On our first ever trip to Philly my bride and I got a good package price on the Loews through Expedia. Besides the price I selected it because it was central to downtown and close to both the the historic Independence Square area and the fabulous Reading Terminal Market, a shopper's and diner's delight. It was so cheap easy to catch the train from the airport directly to the Market East Station just across the street from the hotel. With the Broad Street subway line it was also incredibly simple to reach Lincoln Financial field and the sports and entertainment district for the game day events. Never had to grab a cab. We could easilty walk or catch transit to everything we wanted to do.

The bonus on this trip was that the hotel is built in a historic old bank building which has been updated but preserves the old style, vault and elevators for display. Very cool to see and read about its past. Other pluses: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The lounge and restaurant, Sole Food, was a hopping center of activity. Also, the spa and fitness center were a cut above the standard offering.

All in all, the Loews made a great base camp for a Philadelphia weekend visit. I would recommend it for the traveler seeking comfort and value.

Room Tip: With higher floor rooms you can avoid the noise and still have a view. Inner rooms don't have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullzfanzclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation and for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel for your first trip to Philadelphia. We are so happy that you and your bride found the hotel’s location so convenient for your visit. And even more pleased you found our staff so very friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was me and my wife's first vacation anywhere and I have to say I’m glad we came to Philly. The way the lobby looked at the hotel was very nice and clean. So we walk up to the front desk to check-in. And we were met by one of the nicest, warm, caring, and sincere person Jamie. He check us in, answered any question we had. He gave us eye contact, said please when he need our info and thanks you after everything. Also Leville at the front desk was very kind. He gave us directions to the nearest store. He is from Atlanta, and I asked him all kinds of questions and he answered with no problem. My lady had to remind me that we had to go, because we were talking for like 20 mins. He and Jamie gave you that feeling like you where taking to old friends. So we immediately hit the ground running. Justin the door man was the best and when I say the best I mean the best. He told us where to go, where not to go. He opened up the doors for me and my wife (Cab/Hotel doors). He gave us directions to a place where I had the best chicken & waffles. And I’m from Compton California (Roscoe’s chicken & waffles). Over all our stay was great, yeah we had some small bad stuff. But we like to focus on the people that made us have a great stay. P.S there is a strawberry blonde her girl in the restaurant that was wonderful sorry I cant remember her name:(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFresh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Izaiah G,
We are so happy that you honored us with your first vacation. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Jamie, Leville and Justin and to either Kristin or Fran. Thank you for such a great review and we hope to see you back with Loews Hotels soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had to come here for a business conference, and the facilities were excellent. We were lucky enough to upgraded to a governors suite room, which was absolutely huge (room 2920). 180 degree views on the 29th floor, bedroom, lounge and bathroom - with a touch of Art Deco. Bed was great and the bathroom very spacious. The Sole Food bar was good for breakfast and on a Thursday night they had a jazz band for happy hour and boy was there a great buzz and lots of people! All of the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. It is also in a great location to walk to all of the tourist sites and it is next door to Macy's which is very handy indeed. Would definitely come back here again!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Peteshell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Peteshell12,
We are happy to read you enjoyed the premium suite and found our staff so friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back with us again soon. Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here a few nights and it met and exceeded many of my expectations. The staff here is great and the concierge is very knowledgeable and helpful. Rooms are clean and quiet, but some aspects could be updated (furniture w/scratches, bathrooms a bit worn). Location lets you get to lots of good restaurants in center city within walking distance. Will stay here again when I come to Philly, especially as the Loews loyalty program has some great perks once you hit certain levels (which is pretty easy).

Room Tip: Staff seems happy to upgrade you to better floors/rooms if you ask and they have availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Randy F,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to have exceeded may of your expectations and will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great hotel with superb service and an extraordinarily nice heated indoor swimming pool. The room was spacious, immaculate, and quiet. The employees are fantastic. The location is perfect. I'd booked way ahead through Hotels.com, did not expect a premier room, but was thrilled to be allocated one on the 30th floor. I hope to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musiclover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and thank you so much for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Philly,lots of great restaurants and history right nearby .Room was very good sized,very clean,more towels in the room than most properties. i usually end up asking for extra ones but not this time.Towels were also actually soft,I mention this because I have experienced some hotel towels that were more like sandpaper than towels. The staff was very friendly,helpful always a hello,good evening,etc. The elevators can be a little confusing if you are not paying attention,but not too bad. Their is an adjoining parking garage that is convenient and easy to get in and out of. I think it was $36 for the full stay,in and out as much as you like. Only a couple minor issues,the VERY loud girls who were yelling in the hall at 2 am,waking up the world(not the hotels fault really),and the slightly confusing elevators.It did seem like there was some kind of construction going on as well,but these things happen.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 18th floor,great views of downtown Philly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justmemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

We are always pleased when we receive a review such as yours and thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,357 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $155 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing