We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pool and breakfast review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pool and breakfast review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Suggestion: order from the menu Sunday morning. My friend and I did. She ordered the lox and bagel, which was a very large plate of capers, tomatoes, lox, onion cream cheese and large bagel, which she could not finish and was pleased with. I had the crab, eggs and potatoes. Lightly poached egg with small chunks of crabmeat under the egg and some under the potatoes. I was happy with this choice. The brunch offering looked, eh, ok.

The pool. 20 meters 2 lane is not bad for a downtown building. There was no chemical smell, but I've been soaking my suit for 2 days trying to reduce the chlorine smell. I am a lap swimmer and this is strong compared to my club. I suggest, if possible, to wet your suit first before getting in and hand wash using soap afterward.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyaway2day5019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, we will pass your compliments to our chef. The crab hash is one of our most popular entrees for breakfast. We will be sure to investigate your comments concerning the chlorine mix in the pool and appreciate your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,574
    1,272
    372
    171
    112
See reviews for
959
1,071
210
1,714
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (942)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here for a week on a conference trip. This was a beautifully presented hotel inside (the entrance was having some work done so it was hard to judge the front exterior) in a very central location. The double king room was clean and nicely decorated, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was pristine. The coffee machine was very handy in the morning and the room was quiet at night. The room was always made up perfectly by the time I got back from the day out.
This hotel is within easy walking distance of many attractions, including the convention centre, City Hall, art galleries and museums such as Mutter, Penn's landing and Delaware River, liberty bell and national constitution centre, Washington Square, Schuylkill River, Chinatown and other restaurants, pubs and an assortment of shops, including the beautiful Macy's store. The subway is just across the road, as is the Hard Rock Cafe and Reading Terminal Market was a block over.
The staff were friendly and helpful and there were some really nice things like cold lemonade in the lobby in the afternoons and a trolley with ice creams every so often. Considering the weather was quite warm these small gestures were very well received. The bar had a nice atmosphere and the restaurant had reasonable prices although I didn't have the chance to eat there apart from one brekky.
Overall I had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone, because of it's quality, location and reasonable room rates (Philly hotels seemed relatively expensive in general).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeejayTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
We enjoyed reading your review and will be sure to share it with our team members. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our family went East this last summer for a wedding. This hotel was our first stop. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left, we were greeted by name by the staff. The rooms are very clean with every possible amenity. There were "gifts" for the boys and a wine and cheese platter greeted us, the adults. The hotel is centrally located and a terrific walk to Independence Hall etc. Excellent

Room Tip: 23rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are happy your and your family had such a “fabulous” experience with us here at the Loews Philadelphia. We look forward to a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We live near Philadelphia but decided to do the "Philly Overnight" special on a Saturday night to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. Given the location, I assume the Loews is mainly a business hotel. Thus the special deal on Saturday nights.

The hotel room and amenities were what I expected from a 4+star hotel. We had a drink in the bar and that was nice as well.

Now on to my complaint and I seem to read this a lot: the achilles heel of nice hotels is the valet parking.

Valet parking is supposed to be providing a feeling of service that you don't get from parking the car yourself, isn't it?

Unfortunately at the Loews hotel, you wait for your car in a parking garage, not in a lobby or outside under a porte cochere. Not the loveliest of locations. Waiting with you are several OTHER guests, who are wearing the same grumpy expression you are probably wearing. There are typically 4 valets standing around not looking like they're doing anything, and no one is hustling to get your car. You and the other guests are looking at your watches because you have an appointment or a dinner reservation. Many minutes go by and you are thinking you could have retrieved the car a LOT faster yourself.

I assume with all the tips people hand out, valet parkers stand to make pretty good money. Maybe I'm wrong and it's a bad job and that's why nice hotels allow the valet parking to be sub-par. But you know, the valet parking is the first AND last impression your hotel makes on customers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol_from_Princeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to review your comments with our valet management team. Thank you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our 4 night stay at the Loews Philadelphia Hotel on Market Street was superb. We were greeted by a friendly doorman, parking was very conveniently located and the reception at the front desk was excellent! Our room was perfectly clean with a comfortable king bed and a view that was spectacular. We had a corner room on the 28th Floor, which added to the magnificent sunrises and sunsets over the city skyline. Housekeeping was not intrusive and our room was fully cleaned and re-supplied every day. We had breakfast every morning in the Hotel Restaurant and everything was perfectly prepared to order. I would recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay in the Philadelphia area. It is also very conveniently located across from the Convention Center.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on high floors offer magnificent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoppe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you, we know there are many choices when you visit Philadelphia and we sincerely appreciate you choosing the Loews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I thought this hotel was very good value for the room rate. Arriving in the afternoon there was complementary lemonade in the lobby, which was a nice welcoming touch. We had a room on a high floor with a great view. The room was spacious and had a coffee and tea machine which we found really useful. The bar is lively and we enjoyed cocktails (very reasonably priced during happy hour) listening to live music. We also made use of the indoor swimming pool which is smallish but suitable for swimming laps. The gym looked very well-equipped. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UkTrippytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The service was absolutely incredible here, everyone was so friendly and helpful. It really stood out and It made me like this hotel immediately. I would recommend asking for a room in one of the higher levels, our view was amazing! Great price too.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriko26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdeanKam, Managing Director at Loews Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Loews Philadelphia Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing