We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel but be CAREFUL with your events!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I had a hard time deciding between three or four stars...all of my guests probably found it to be a four or five star trip but the stress I went through definitely deserves the three star rating.

I was lucky enough to marry the love of my life at Loews this year. It is a gorgeous venue that manages to keep the historical art deco feel while still seeming very modern. I also couldn't get over how friendly everyone was; from the front desk to the maids, everyone seemed genuinely excited for me and tripped pver themselves to make our time special.

The one thing that turned this event from a happy event into a stressful one was the woman who was in charge of our event, Nickoletta. She,like everyone else, was very sweet and very lovely, but she was incredibly disorganized and bordering on incompetent.She was supposed to be helping with the planning and instead I found myself having to remind her several times of different things and even then they wouldn't get done. A front desk manager had to arrange for my bridal suite and my parent's room...they weren't in the system and obviously hadn't been arranged for ahead of time. She created more work and stress for me at every turn, and while everything was eventually worked out, I would be very careful in using Loews (or maybe just Nickoletta) for your events.

I would love to stay here again for a vacation, but I'll be taking my events elsewhere..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilaGal215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,892 - 4,898 of 5,619 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2011

This was my first stay at any of the Loews chain of hotels, and I had such a great experience here that I'll look for them when I travel in the future.
From the moment I arrived at the hotel, the staff was exceptionally curteous and helpful, without being pushy. Despite the fact that I obviously checked in on a very busy day (there seemed to be several weddings going on), I was able to check in a little before the "regular" time without a problem, and the desk clerk was quick to recommend things to do in the area.
My room was spacious, well-appointed and very clean, as was the bathroom. They also had the most comfortable bathrobes of any hotel I've stayed in! I was on an upper floor, so the street noise was minimal, even though I faced Market Street.
I took advantage of the fitness centre, which has lots of new equipment and enough space so that you are not crowded with the other patrons. The meeting facilities were also very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavensFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had a room with double queen beds. It was clean, spacious and pleasant. Beds were comfortable and enabled a good nights sleep. Hotel staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel is both pet friendly and pet owner friendly. I can recommend Loews and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalgaryBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Booked two rooms for a four-night business trip. We were assigned different-sized rooms on 12th floor. It was a fabulous sleep. The decor feels a bit harsh in the common parts and I didn't use anything except the wi-fi which was fine. But it was just incredibly comfortable beds, linen and pillows. The first thing my colleague and I both remarked on after the first night was this. I had a smaller corner room but it was great double-aspect windows to see the sun come up. Location is fine - overnight parking is cheaper a block down - about half price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippsyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed there for two nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The location was in walking distance to everything. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. Would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanneg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I couldn't be happier with this hotel. It's a renovated old art deco office building, and the authentic period touches make the place unique. The location couldn't be better too - right in the middle of things. The service was decent - 4-star standard.

I'm very glad I paid about $80 extra for a room upgrade. We were put in a corner room on the top floor with the most stunning night-time skyline view I've ever had. Unforgettable! I forget the name of the room category, but the corner rooms on the top floors are a very good choice, and worth the extra investment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blurgeshmurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I stayed here with a group and saw many different rooms. The corner room that I stayed in was huge and it had two double beds. Those are the way to go. The king room I saw was tiny. The corner room was huge compared with the others. This hotel is really nice and the decor is awesome. The lobby is scented and it smells really great. All of the staff I encountered were very helpful and the location is ideal if you need to be near the convention center as I did. It is also walking distance to a ton of great restaurants. There is free wifi in the lobby which includes the restaurant/bar. I would definitely stay here again. Tip: a cab to the airport was a flat rate at $28.50 + extras. But the trains go right to the hotel too.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dr_Drew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,396 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 1200 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $167 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first skyscraper ever built in the City of Brotherly Love is home to Loews Philadelphia Hotel. Contemporary decor and gracious hospitality make Loews Philadelphia one of Center City's most inviting luxury hotels, recognized as one of the "World's Best" by Travel + Leisure readers. The supremely comfortable 581 guest rooms include 12 suites and 54 concierge club rooms, all of which are luxuriously appointed and are furnished to suit the needs of both families and business travelers Located in the heart of the city with the famous PSFS sign still illuminating the Philadelphia skyline, Loews Philadelphia Hotel is perfectly situated so you can take advantage of everything this city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loews Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philadelphia Loews
Lowes Philadelphia
Loews Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing