We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location - Gracious Hosts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 28 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Location - Gracious Hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Beautiful old house. Great location. The trolly runs by frequently so one never needs to wait too long.
We were welcomed in by Oscar. Oscar is Warren and Don's dog or I should say son. He is very well behaved and has impeccable manners.
The house is kept meticulously clean - even for its size. There is a bar fridge for the guests to use on the main floor.
After a restful and deep sleep in the Egan room we were set for one of Warren's fabulous breakfasts. It was warm hearty and held us for full day of adventure in Philadelphia.
We enjoyed the warm hospitality of our hosts Warren, Don and Oscar. This would be a place we would return to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon_Love-to-Visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
28
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose The Gables as our starting point on a three week trip as it was not too far to drive from the airport after our flight from the UK, and we love staying in B and Bs. We were not disappointed. Don and Warren are very welcoming hosts. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were excellent and sitting around a large table makes for very interesting conversations. Breakfast cannot be rushed! The trolley into Philly stops just around the corner which makes it very easy to go and see the sights in the city. Good restaurants in the area, particularly enjoyed our evening in Dock Street Brewery. My husband can recommend the fish and chips! Would definitely return to The Gables.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My room and traveling companions' rooms were huge and had great natural light from large, deep-silled windows. You can tell the original builder spared no expense on creating this masterpiece, the woodwork, floors, and overall structure are magnificent. I only met one of the innkeepers (Warren), and he was warm, accommodating, and it was clear he wanted to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms and common areas are very clean, which is impressive as I can only imagine what it takes to clean this place. Breakfast was terrific, many selections to satisfy anyone's palate or diet restrictions. Offstreet parking is available on a first come, first serve basis, which is nearly unheard of in this particular neighborhood. The only possible downside (and this is certainly a matter of personal taste and I am being nitpicky) is that the place is packed to the gills with antique furniture. Rooms are huge as previously stated, but it seems they are trying to fill every square inch with furniture or other antique items. This did not in any way detract from the overall grandeur of the property, it again is simply a matter of personal aesthetic and may be indicative of my ignorance of Victorian style. Location is great, blocks from U of Penn. Public transportation is only a block away, along with numerous cab companies at your disposal. The property and home are truly lovely (as is their sweet dog) and I would definitely return!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that do share a common bathroom (all others have their own private baths), but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything about The Gables speaks of the care that the owners invest in their B&B - and that extra effort makes the difference. The room was not only comfortable & clean - it felt like staying with a favourite grandmother. Breakfast was different every day, fresh and satisfying - and I'm not a breakfast person usually; just a cup of coffee and I'm on my way ... but at The Gables, it was just too good to miss. A true 'find' !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAmericanInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This B&B is gorgeous, in a home built in 1889 and beautifully restored by the current owners, who are gracious and also prepare a fabulous breakfast. If you want to know more about their work to restore the house, they will tell you about it. It's a wonderful story. The house and all of its rooms are immaculate, and the yard is also beautifully maintained. It's an oasis that makes you think you're in the country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely Victorian B & B. Very clean & welcoming, large comfortable rooms, hot breakfast, & nice staff. Cozy porch! There is a large park a block away and the trolley runs right in front of B & B that takes you downtown to city center.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent four nights at The Gables while attending a conference at the Philadelphia Conference Center. We stayed in the Victorian Room. We loved the house and how it was furnished with antiques, some of which were family heirlooms. I loved all the family photos that were displayed throughout. The lighting in the bathroom was perfect for applying makeup. We were able to see some of the other rooms and they were all splendidly appointed. The breakfast baked goods were delicious. My favorite was the apple walnut muffins. The Trolley stop is at the corner and a convenient way to get to downtown. Thank you Warren, Don, Oscar and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4520 Chester Ave, At South 46th St., Philadelphia, PA 19143-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Victorian B&B, 10 guest rooms, free parking, full breakfast. Amazing collection of Victorian antiques with 21st century amenities such as WiFi, cable tv, phones, computer station, dvd and vcr. Easy public transit. Near universities and hospitals, 12 minutes to center city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing