We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fabulous B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 28 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose The Gables as our starting point on a three week trip as it was not too far to drive from the airport after our flight from the UK, and we love staying in B and Bs. We were not disappointed. Don and Warren are very welcoming hosts. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfasts were excellent and sitting around a large table makes for very interesting conversations. Breakfast cannot be rushed! The trolley into Philly stops just around the corner which makes it very easy to go and see the sights in the city. Good restaurants in the area, particularly enjoyed our evening in Dock Street Brewery. My husband can recommend the fish and chips! Would definitely return to The Gables.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    21
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
21
26
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My room and traveling companions' rooms were huge and had great natural light from large, deep-silled windows. You can tell the original builder spared no expense on creating this masterpiece, the woodwork, floors, and overall structure are magnificent. I only met one of the innkeepers (Warren), and he was warm, accommodating, and it was clear he wanted to make each guest's stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms and common areas are very clean, which is impressive as I can only imagine what it takes to clean this place. Breakfast was terrific, many selections to satisfy anyone's palate or diet restrictions. Offstreet parking is available on a first come, first serve basis, which is nearly unheard of in this particular neighborhood. The only possible downside (and this is certainly a matter of personal taste and I am being nitpicky) is that the place is packed to the gills with antique furniture. Rooms are huge as previously stated, but it seems they are trying to fill every square inch with furniture or other antique items. This did not in any way detract from the overall grandeur of the property, it again is simply a matter of personal aesthetic and may be indicative of my ignorance of Victorian style. Location is great, blocks from U of Penn. Public transportation is only a block away, along with numerous cab companies at your disposal. The property and home are truly lovely (as is their sweet dog) and I would definitely return!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that do share a common bathroom (all others have their own private baths), but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Everything about The Gables speaks of the care that the owners invest in their B&B - and that extra effort makes the difference. The room was not only comfortable & clean - it felt like staying with a favourite grandmother. Breakfast was different every day, fresh and satisfying - and I'm not a breakfast person usually; just a cup of coffee and I'm on my way ... but at The Gables, it was just too good to miss. A true 'find' !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAmericanInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre, Montana
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This B&B is gorgeous, in a home built in 1889 and beautifully restored by the current owners, who are gracious and also prepare a fabulous breakfast. If you want to know more about their work to restore the house, they will tell you about it. It's a wonderful story. The house and all of its rooms are immaculate, and the yard is also beautifully maintained. It's an oasis that makes you think you're in the country.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely Victorian B & B. Very clean & welcoming, large comfortable rooms, hot breakfast, & nice staff. Cozy porch! There is a large park a block away and the trolley runs right in front of B & B that takes you downtown to city center.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbo38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent four nights at The Gables while attending a conference at the Philadelphia Conference Center. We stayed in the Victorian Room. We loved the house and how it was furnished with antiques, some of which were family heirlooms. I loved all the family photos that were displayed throughout. The lighting in the bathroom was perfect for applying makeup. We were able to see some of the other rooms and they were all splendidly appointed. The breakfast baked goods were delicious. My favorite was the apple walnut muffins. The Trolley stop is at the corner and a convenient way to get to downtown. Thank you Warren, Don, Oscar and staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

From the moment I arrived I was charmed. The Gables building itself is gorgeous and very spacious. I was very relieved when I saw it in person. It is actually much more spacious than it looks in the pictures and quite grand. The details in furnishings and decoration are delightful and are everywhere (but it does not feel claustrophobic because the house is HUGE and the décor is so tasteful).

The owners were completely thoughtful. I was going to just eat my own nuts for breakfast because I am so picky but they took the time to discuss my likes and dislikes and made a very gourmet breakfast that was perfect for me: an over-easy egg with tender asparagus and a homemade light sauce…for breakfast!! Seriously, who does that?!

The room I stayed in was very comfortable and quiet; even though it was a full house I didn't hear a peep out of anyone. The guests were very friendly and interesting and I got to know them over breakfast.

The Gables has free WiFi and a printer and fax machine. There is a lovely park about a block away and I jogged around it each morning. I never felt unsafe. There is a public transportation stop right in front of The Gables which I took every day. I never had to wait more than a few minutes. Make sure you spend some time with the owners as they are very kind and knowledgeable about the city.

Room Tip: I stayed right at the top of the first flight of stairs and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#7 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#17 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Gables Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4520 Chester Ave, At South 46th St., Philadelphia, PA 19143-3707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Victorian B&B, 10 guest rooms, free parking, full breakfast. Amazing collection of Victorian antiques with 21st century amenities such as WiFi, cable tv, phones, computer station, dvd and vcr. Easy public transit. Near universities and hospitals, 12 minutes to center city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing