We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place”
Review of The Water Works - CLOSED

The Water Works
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kelly Drive
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice place”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I will start this review by stating the staff could not have been any nicer. We had a party of 19 and received excellent service! The only reason I gave it a very good rating is that I found it to be over priced which will be a factor in making another visit. The main spread was delicious but very similar to brunch offerings at other venues. Creative specialty Eggs Benedict and Omelets were made available at an additional cost. We lucked out by having a nice day and could go out and appreciate the surroundings of the Kelly Drive and the Philadelphia Art Museum.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi Harbison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
294 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very interesting location, very good food and service”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Had dinner at the Water Works with a group of 15 people. Very nice menu. I had the grilled octopus starter. It was very good. A duck main course completed my selections. It was also very good. The restaurant is located on the schuylkill river and behind the Philly art museum. I think it would be great restaurant in the summer. They have a nice patio. All the people in our group were very pleased.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niagarariverfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Noisy, Overpriced, Dirty Smelly Bathroom”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I visited the Water Works with a medium-size group on a Saturday afternoon. First, the bad news. It is very noisy due to the very high ceilings and lack of wall décor. I understand that the large hall is the "shining star" of a very old (formerly abandoned and derelict) pump house, but surely they could have added some sound absorption. Plenty of staff and servers and "managers" in suits running around (literally running around), but the food and beverages came to the table in slow motion. Lots of useless noise made by the staff moving tables and chairs around after a group or family left their table. The bathroom is in the dungeon at the bottom of steep stairs, smelled like the bathroom in a biker bar, and didn't look much better. The lunch menu only has 4, yes - that's 4, lunch entrees with hefty price tags for what you actually receive. Although, the menu does have plenty of appetizer, salad, and sandwich selections. Other reviewers gush about the "great view," but it is just a dirty urban river backed by continuous lines of auto and rail traffic. The good news. Most everyone enjoyed their meal; some items like the sauces and fried potatoes were overly salted. Their signature appetizer, the grilled octopus was excellent - but at $14 - came to about $5 per octopus-ounce. Valet parking is complimentary. Plenty of better values in Center City.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donauschwob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We took a tour of the Water Works with a volunteer guide before our lunch. Very informative. Then for lunch we sat outside and enjoyed the view. We had been here before in the winter and enjoyed our lunch but taking the tour and sitting outside was exceptional. Worth the visit. Food was good. Service was good. It was just a perfect afternoon. Don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch was terrific!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were in Philly for a long weekend and chose to end our stay with the Sunday Brunch at Water Works. Made an Open Table Reservation and were the first ones seated, out on the porch, overlooking the river. Food was delicious, cooked to order, wait staff was quite attentive, plenty of creative choices. Loved the meal! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Works also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing