We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's probably lovely in the summer”
Review of The Water Works - CLOSED

The Water Works
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kelly Drive
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“It's probably lovely in the summer”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went for Sunday brunch, there wasn't many people there, so it lacked in atmosphere. I don't think $40 is so bad for buffet brunch, and the food was really nice, but it's really not a winter venue. I would imagine sitting outside in the summer is lovely but it wasnt all that inviting at this time of year. Service was good and given the few people there I think they did a good job on food selection. We did try to make a reservation for 12:30, but they said on the phone, it was either 11:30 or 13:30. Considering there was no be there, they could ave been a bit more accommodating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Soak up the ambiance”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stopped here just for a drink , appetizers and to rest our weary legs. They set up a table outside for us on a hot, November day. Went out of their wat to accomodate our party with service, drinks and apps. Be prepared to pay for great food and extraordinary attention by the host and his staff. Menu is limited for dinner.,but worth a trip for those that want haute cuisine polished service and beautiful views.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a rip off!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went for brunch on Sunday. Eight of us. Waiter offered Bloody Mary or Mimosa. Everyone assumed they were included in brunch. No!! $10 each. Food was ok, not worth $40. Have been to nicer brunches for less money. Also, we were charged $2.50 each for those who had tea, but nothing for coffee. When we asked about that, his reply was "most people like coffee"
Is a tea bag more expensive? To top it off, they added $80 gratuity. We felt 20% was high for a buffet, but they would not budge on that. Won't be going back there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
189 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great lunch and tour”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we went to see the museum which we liked (see that review). As we were hungry afterwards we looked at the restaurant menu and decided to try it.

Wow what a pleasant suprise. Good food, service and incredible atmosphere and view.

We looked in the bar and the GM showed us around the inside (we ate on the patio). Wondeful decor and interesting rooms.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Underwhelming yet pricey brunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate there today for a special occasion but it was not a special meal. For example the shrimp was frozen and thawed out and the prime rib was way over Done and there couldn't be a medium rare piece to be found. Save your money and go someplace else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Water Works also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing