We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Boutique Hotel - Great Stay”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #35 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unique Boutique Hotel - Great Stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I prefer not to stay at a chain hotel if a local hotel is price competitive, good location and is a quality stay. The Independent delivers on all the requirements. We had a rather large group, all loved the place and said they would return; pretty hard to accomplish.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poverty Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    291
    72
    32
    12
See reviews for
174
369
70
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metro DC area
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This is exactly what I hoped for - a real European hotel in the heart of Philadelphia. The room are exquisite and unique, the extra amenities (toiletries, ipod stand, scale (!!), etc) are upscale, abundant and thoughtful- the staff is friendly, knowledgeable and unfailingly helpful, the location is superb! I picked it off the internet and feel like we've found a real treasure. An extra bonus - the website music associated with the site is pretty cool - I didn't even turn it off (but the off button was easy to find). If my boy gets into school in Philly (fingers crossed!! - AND that he chooses them back) I will be happy to come ANY parents weekend as long as I can stay here!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisadna4n6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

I stayed at this lovely hotel in early January and was pleasantly surprised by all aspects of my stay. Upon arrival you take the elevator to the lobby on the 2nd level. Two staff members were there to check me in and were so friendly and helpful. My room was on the 3rd floor near the elevator and I didn't have any problems with noise (as other reviewers have mentioned). I never heard the elevator chime or sounds from the street or the bar. Room was spacious, with a large comfortable bed, great TV, a shower with a double shower-head and excellent water pressure. And it was exceptionally clean! Not a spec of dirt or dust anywhere! The only downside was the lighting in the bathroom, which would intermittently dim up and down all on it's own, but was easy enough to fix after I spoke with the management. The staff were great, giving me directions for walking to South Street shops and to a great tapas restaurant for dinner. I like the decor, which was a mix of contemporary and classic, a mix of old and new just like the city itself. The wine and cheese reception was lovely and the delivered breakfast was nice (oatmeal, yogurt, fruit and juice, a perfect breakfast for me). Overall, I loved my stay and plan to return to this hotel on all my travels back to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmgreenboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

If you like a lovely room, small, thoughtful touches, and a great location, this hotel is for you. We spent a night there this weekend and were delighted. It was quite, easy to come and go, and the breakfast delivered to our door was just great. An easy walk to the Academy of Music, Walnut Theatre, Kimmel Center and more. My only addition would be an extra towel rack in our bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenlady57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC and CT
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2010

We got a pretty good rate on our room through TravelZoo - so for the money we paid the room was ok.

The biggest negative was the noise. I guess because we got a deal on the room, they placed us in the room closest to the elevator. If you stay here and they put you in the room adjacent to the elevator, immediately ask to be moved. Every time the elevator stops at a floor, it makes a "dinging noise". You can hear it lying in bed up to 2 floors away. and by the time it gets to your floor you feel the vibration. Luckily there was no noticeable activity from the elevator until 8am, or the issue would have been a much bigger one! Another negative to this story, is that I spoke to the management about it as we checked out. I did not ask for money back or any sort of compensation, I just wanted them to know it was a problem, and instead of acknowledging the issue, the manager pretended he'd never heard of this problem. There is simply no way this has not been a problem in the past.

Otherwise the hotel is no more impressive than any good chain. The interior architecture is for the most part fairly generic hotel architecture. Some of the furniture has a nice boutique feel to it and the rooms are spacious, but everything could use some TLC and updating. The flyer in the room claims it's Philadelphia's "newest" boutique hotel. If that's true then, it got decorated by someone about 15 years out of sync with the times, and with a penchant for shoddy work. The shower had mildew in various places and shoddy repair work. The grey tile was reminiscent of showers at the gym. The toilet paper arm had a golf ball sized hole in the drywall behind it. and some of the packages of coffee and tea were already opened and picked through!

Speaking of which. The coffee is undrinkable. Absolutely horrible. And don't even bother with the complimentary breakfast. It's worse than the continental breakfast bar at a Holiday Inn.

On the plus side, the hotel has comfortable beds and was fairly clean. It's in a convenient location and has reasonable parking a block away for $15 a day, with the option of leaving and coming back. Just don't think of it as a luxurious boutique hotel with all sorts of quaint touches.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yahoocowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This is a great hotel. Our room was large, the beds were very comfortable, great bathroom, excellent TV. They do need to improve on the lighting though. Their free breakfast is more than adequate, but after we found a Bonté Waffle around the corner, we traded it for waffles. It's close to everything and we didn't even use our car. If you don't want to walk, the hotel is also close to the subway. The free wifi was also a plus.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyjuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

Stayed here for a wedding in May and really liked the hotel.

Positives - superb location; extremely helpful staff (when I asked for water, they delivered about 6 bottles to the room); very spacious and nicely decorated room with large bathroom; coffee constantly available for free in reception

Negatives - lacks facilities of large hotel but it is a boutique hotel. Can be noisy due to bar at back at weekends.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,354 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#22 of 86 in Philadelphia
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Rodeway Inn Center City
#50 of 86 in Philadelphia
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing