We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Intimate Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC metro area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Lovely Intimate Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

I found this hotel on-line and read all the reviews and then decided to book the hotel for the weekend. What a great decision!! I really enjoyed my stay. The location was perfect. I was within walking distance of many sites, metro stops and cabs were plentiful. There were tons of restaurants to choose from and the atmosphere was colorful and eclectic. The staff of the hotel was friendly and extremely helpful. My room was beautiful and the bed very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again and will reccommened it to others. A wonderful place and fairly reasonalble price for Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maighohgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    287
    68
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
364
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Pa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Not only is this hotel centrally located to the Avenue of the Arts, it's a fun, chich and ultra-clean hotel. I was able to walk to everything I wanted to visit without having to drive my car, The roomsa are airy, spacious and eye-catching with an earth-tone color scheme and comfortable bed. The phone is unique in that you can call toll free anywhere in the US but also set a wake-up call, an electronic Do Not Disturb Sign, and connect to about a dozen area restaurants with the push of a single button. Although the hotel doesn't have a fitness center, it allows patrons to visit one of the city's best fitenss centers nearby. The hotel is very safe, with the lobby on the second floor and elevators operated only with a room key. The service is top notch and the hotel is very quiet and romantic.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed in a room with two queen beds at The Independent. The room was *lovely* - one of the nicest hotel rooms we've ever had. The beds were great, the appointments in the room just beautiful. The staff were terrific - helpful and pleasant. We loved being able to use the 12th Street Gym around the corner - convenient and a great workout. I would stay here again - in fact, I hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

The service was above and beyond what I expected and the staff was so so friendly. It was my husband's birthday and the staff went out of their way to be sure we had an excellent stay. The hotel itself was clean and comfy located in the center of it all! The rooms were very cozy and also clean. It had such a modern feel without loosing any of the charm. I would highly recommend staying here as I know the next time we are in Philly, it will be where we are staying once again!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindyb72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

My first, but not my last stay in this wonderful boutique hotel. Greeted with a smile and excellent service. The room was meticulously cleaned and beautifully decorated. They seem to have thought of everything, even a doorbell! :) All of the staff were so helpful and friendly, truly a class act. Looking forward to our next Philadelphia stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Guy_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was our first trip to the States and The Independent was our first hotel of the holiday. What a fantastic start! The hotel is small but has great attention to detail. There is a welcoming reception area with comfortable seating and an open fire and the hotel staff were tremendous and made us feel valued as customers even though we were only staying for one night. The reception area boasts a fantastic mural by a local artist and really helps to bring philadelphia right into the hotel. The rooms were inviting and my teenagers daughters loved the toiletries, the wi-fi access and the i-pod docking station. We slept well in large comfortable beds and enjoyed a generous breakfast the next day sat in easy chairs in reception. The staff mentioned that they are thinking of serving guests their breakfast in their rooms but we loved the opportunity to chat with other guests, all of whom were from the US and gave us some great tips on what to see.
I would definately make areturn trip to this hotel and hope it manages to hang on to its friendly, boutique feel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobboYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We recently stayed at The Independent and were extremely pleased. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk just about anywhere. The room was clean and nicely decorated and best of all, quiet (a plus when travelling with a young child who falls asleep early). This hotel offers great value and style for the traveller who is not expecting a lot of big hotel services (no bellhop, room service or valet parking). We definately plan to return in the Spring or Summer.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happypugtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing