We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly chic and oh so friendly!”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #36 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was our first trip to the States and The Independent was our first hotel of the holiday. What a fantastic start! The hotel is small but has great attention to detail. There is a welcoming reception area with comfortable seating and an open fire and the hotel staff were tremendous and made us feel valued as customers even though we were only staying for one night. The reception area boasts a fantastic mural by a local artist and really helps to bring philadelphia right into the hotel. The rooms were inviting and my teenagers daughters loved the toiletries, the wi-fi access and the i-pod docking station. We slept well in large comfortable beds and enjoyed a generous breakfast the next day sat in easy chairs in reception. The staff mentioned that they are thinking of serving guests their breakfast in their rooms but we loved the opportunity to chat with other guests, all of whom were from the US and gave us some great tips on what to see.
I would definately make areturn trip to this hotel and hope it manages to hang on to its friendly, boutique feel.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobboYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
There are newer reviews for The Independent
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

We recently stayed at The Independent and were extremely pleased. The hotel is in a great location and you can walk just about anywhere. The room was clean and nicely decorated and best of all, quiet (a plus when travelling with a young child who falls asleep early). This hotel offers great value and style for the traveller who is not expecting a lot of big hotel services (no bellhop, room service or valet parking). We definately plan to return in the Spring or Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happypugtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2009

lovely hotel in fantastic location - very good value for money for boutique hotel. queen deluxe room small but adequate with masculine but quality decor. clean, great free drinks in lobby - wine and cheese in evening and hot drinks in day. nice staff . highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank loumcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Great location - very convenient to The Avenue of The Arts (Acedemy of Music, Kimmel Center, etc.). The rooms are absolutely adorable and very clean. I usually travel with cleaning supplies (yes I am a little neurotic), but I forgot them and I was okay with that! Housekeeping could not have been friendlier, however the people at check-in did not have much personality. I would rate this hotel a 4+ star, but I guess due to the lack of immenities, they are only rated a 3 star. The hotel is also very safe and secure - you need a room key to get in the front door after a certain time and also need your room key to get above the 2nd floor (where the lobby is). The $15 parking was also very convenient and cheaper than other hotels, but I recommend cabbing it around town.The short cab ride to Independence Hall was only $6.00 - definitely worth it since parking can be a hassel and expensive. If you are undecisive on where to stay - think no more and stay at The Independent - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndWhere2Next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kova67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Stayed: December 2008
Thank ChgoTrav78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,363 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#20 of 87 in Philadelphia
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $159 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing