We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Independent Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alexander Inn(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveler rating
545
307
79
37
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
307
79
37
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreen eggsgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotellarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 987 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed there for an extended weekend in August as did several other friends who came in from out of town for a family wedding. The staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. The location is great. The hotel is really a lovely boutique hotel. The rooms were very attractive and the lobby, though on the small side, did have some seating area with a tv and coffee/tea available 24/7. There is a computer and a tv there as well (and free wi fi through the hotel)
The continental breakfast was fine- more a convenience for a light breakfast which is delivered to your room to either eat in the room or you can order it to go. The bathroom was quite spacious and nicely updated. The lot is 1/2 block away further down locust. We were on the 2nd floor and we did hear street noise- nothing horrible but we noticed they do provide ear plugs on the night tables..
All in all it was a very good choice- location, amenities, and very attentive service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moiinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2014

Dear moiinnj,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had an standout experience during your group block accommodations. I believe our property has such a unique charm that it makes for the perfect family wedding stay, and I know our staff enjoyed meeting and assisting everyone in your party. I hope you will keep us in mind for any future trips to Philadelphia.

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The room was decent but the best location was better. 15 minute walk to the historical district plus the hotel was located near many restaurants. The staff was very welcoming and were willing to help. The only thing that was a downside was the breakfast. I'd suggest bringing something or eating out.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Kathryn P,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I totally agree with you that our location can't be beat. Just a simple walk from Rittenhouse Square, Old City, and most other can't-miss attractions in Philly, it makes for the perfect starting point for a sight-seeing tour. I'm also glad that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient, and I hope that you will come back to see us again very soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great hotel in superb location. Rooms are spacious with a giant king size bed, two-headed shower and little kitchenette area. The staff are helpful and friendly. The only negative is it is a bit noisy with car horns but earplugs are provided. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Tuw,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I'm so glad you enjoyed all the aspects of your King Deluxe room, and also that you found our staff to be helpful in assisting you during your stay. The next time you come back to Philly, feel free to call us ahead of time and we will be happy to assign you to one of our quieter rooms. Happy travels!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Unusual boutique hotel. The lobby is on the second floor, but the elevator is only for the hotel so it wasn't an issue. Rooms are of varying size and shapes, so ask for larger room or corner room. Breakfast was sparse, but had healthy options. There was a Bar below our window, but it was not loud and did not bother us. Overall, it was a quiet, clean hotel with large rooms and a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2014

Dear Melodie M,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I agree with you that our hotel is 'unusual' in that the rooms are all different, each with their own charm and character. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at our property, and that you found your guest room to be clean and quiet. Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

was in town for a business meeting and spent a couple of days seeing the city. great location. great feel. would highly recommend to anyone. proximity to the city highlights and dining is outstanding.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank kl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel V, Front Desk Supervisor at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear kl b,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It's great to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us during your business trip to Philadelphia. I agree that our neighborhood can't be beat in terms of dining options and tourist attractions, and I'm glad you had time during your visit to do a bit of exploring. Be sure to come visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Dan Vetrano
Front Desk Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews