We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families with kids!”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families with kids!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently in August with our three children (ages 12, 9 and 5) and with my daughters best friend-another 8 year old. We all were very comfortable! We did not feel cramped at all. We had a bed up in the loft for me and my husband with our own bathroom (though we did have only one shower)We had a pull out sofa bed for 2 kids and a Murphy bed for 2 more! The room and loft space were clean and nicely decorated. The staff didn't blink an eye when they saw all of us piling out of the elevator :-) and were helpful in giving us ideas about where to sight see. The kids loved the hot chocolate that was always available and we liked the breakfast that was delivered to the room. Not the most amazing food but it did the job and was super convenient. We parked about a block away and the location was good. Nice street within quick driving or walking distance to many attractions. Also the staff let us drop of our copious amounts of stuff: luggage and bags and food (oh my!) during the day before our room was ready which was really convenient. Additionally when I was calling around to various hotels in Philly to make inquiries I noted that this hotel was the most welcoming-even over the phone! Altogether I think a great place to stay with children!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear msw7,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am absolutely delighted to hear about how accomodating our Queen Loft Suite was for you and your family. I am also pleased that you had a great experience with our staff, starting from the moment you spoke with them on the phone. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    287
    70
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
366
70
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here because of the mix of location, quality of hotel, and price. I'm so glad we did. The hotel is easily accessible from the airport regional rail (get off on Market East station and walk a few blocks), and is close to great restaurants and cultural sites. The room was nicely appointed, clean, reasonably quiet (it is a bustling urban area after-all), and the staff are very welcoming. The wine/cheese happy hour was fun and it was interesting to mingle with the other guests. This place seems to attract diverse clientele. We chatted the most with a multi-generational family from France and an urban hipster from LA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Jill C,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I think it's wonderful that you not only thoroughly enjoyed the time you spent at our hotel, but in the surrounding area as well. It is true that we are a quick walk away from many fantastic restaurants, tourist attractions and cultural venues. I am also glad that you had the chance to meet other guests during our wine and cheese reception, as it's a fun way to mingle with visitors from around the world. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton, pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here one night for a girls' weekend with my friend and our teenaged daughters. We had tickets to see the Phillies at CBP, and Fall Out Boy at Temple. I wanted to stay someplace central with easy transportation between the two venues.

I chose The Independent based on previous reviews. It's a boutique hotel that gives very personal service. I had many questions upon arrival regarding parking, dining, and subway transportation. I was given specific instructions and suggestions in a friendly, attentive manner.

The room itself had just enough space for us. Large, well-lit bathroom, yes the shower might be too small for tall men, but it worked for us ladies. Keurig machine, iHome, strong free internet, nice dark curtains for sleeping, flat screen TV...all the comforts of home.

We loved that the hotel delivers your continental breakfast, and a newspaper to your door. Your key card only works for your floor, and you need to use it to gain entrance to the hotel's entrance after 10 pm. Nice safety feature.

Subway is nearby making exploring the city convenient. We had no trouble getting to Citizen's Bank Park, or Temple University. I would love to stay here again whenever my plans include an overnight stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Our room faced a building. We did not hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerry013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Independent is a fine hotel in a great location. We enjoyed a spacious room with a lot of charm and outstanding service. The staff remembered my first name and used it! Since when does that happen? Downtown Philadelphia is noisy but all big cities are. We had a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: 306 is a Queen, and a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ralph R,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed how personable and efficient our staff is. As a smaller hotel, we take pride in being able to go above and beyond for our guests, giving them the personal attention and respect that leaves a lasting impression. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Chose this based on tripadvisor reviews. Service was EXCELLENT, from booking to help with luggage, to restaurant recs., one maintenance issue (fuse in kitchenette) addressed immediately, manager addressed one billing question immediately. Have never encountered a friendlier, more helpful staff. Within easy walking distance of many great restaurants, including Green Eggs for breakfast right across street. Room: choose back of hotel, quieter. Had King suite, worth it, very spacious. Impeccably clean. Fast wireless. Very comfortable beds. Anyone doing research, Library Company and HSP are literally right across the street. Large bathroom, good lighting, several full-length mirrors. No tub in the one I had and rather tight shower, but great water pressure. Only an issue if you are a very large person. Good little kitchenette with Keurig, mini-fridge, micro. in the suite. Plan to stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: Upper rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Historygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Historygirl76,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am absolutely delighted to hear how impressed you were with the exceptional customer service from our staff members. It's also wonderful that you took advantage of the great dining options in the surrounding area, such as Green Eggs Cafe, a local favorite. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were duly impressed by the spacious room we were given....It was a duplex w/ a couch, flat screen television, built-in fireplace, 1/2 bath & micro/fridge on first floor with a queen bed & full bath upstairs!!!! Convenient to our daughter's college & other places of interests, within walking distance.. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear egemini,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

Our Queen Loft Suite is a favorite among our repeat guests, and I very happy to hear that you loved it as much as everyone else! I am also glad to hear that you found our location to be conveniently located to both your daughter's college and many other interesting sights that Philadelphia has to offer. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was a great choice our long weekend in Philly. The hotel had great charm. The room was large with two large beds, lots of pillows, and a great bathroom. Free breakfast was great and it made it easy to get out in the mornings. It was a walk to the historical district, but not terrible. Lots of great restaurants and drinking holes nearby. The staff was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Angela H,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It is wonderful to read a review of our hotel where the word 'great' appears so many times! I am very glad you found everything to meet or exceed your standards during your stay with us. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,330 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing