We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #38 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Chose this based on tripadvisor reviews. Service was EXCELLENT, from booking to help with luggage, to restaurant recs., one maintenance issue (fuse in kitchenette) addressed immediately, manager addressed one billing question immediately. Have never encountered a friendlier, more helpful staff. Within easy walking distance of many great restaurants, including Green Eggs for breakfast right across street. Room: choose back of hotel, quieter. Had King suite, worth it, very spacious. Impeccably clean. Fast wireless. Very comfortable beds. Anyone doing research, Library Company and HSP are literally right across the street. Large bathroom, good lighting, several full-length mirrors. No tub in the one I had and rather tight shower, but great water pressure. Only an issue if you are a very large person. Good little kitchenette with Keurig, mini-fridge, micro. in the suite. Plan to stay here again, for sure.

Room Tip: Upper rooms in back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Historygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Historygirl76,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am absolutely delighted to hear how impressed you were with the exceptional customer service from our staff members. It's also wonderful that you took advantage of the great dining options in the surrounding area, such as Green Eggs Cafe, a local favorite. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

476 - 482 of 974 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were duly impressed by the spacious room we were given....It was a duplex w/ a couch, flat screen television, built-in fireplace, 1/2 bath & micro/fridge on first floor with a queen bed & full bath upstairs!!!! Convenient to our daughter's college & other places of interests, within walking distance.. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear egemini,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

Our Queen Loft Suite is a favorite among our repeat guests, and I very happy to hear that you loved it as much as everyone else! I am also glad to hear that you found our location to be conveniently located to both your daughter's college and many other interesting sights that Philadelphia has to offer. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was a great choice our long weekend in Philly. The hotel had great charm. The room was large with two large beds, lots of pillows, and a great bathroom. Free breakfast was great and it made it easy to get out in the mornings. It was a walk to the historical district, but not terrible. Lots of great restaurants and drinking holes nearby. The staff was warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Angela H,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

It is wonderful to read a review of our hotel where the word 'great' appears so many times! I am very glad you found everything to meet or exceed your standards during your stay with us. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Independent is conveniently located and walking distance for shopping, site seeing and restaurants. Our stay was hampered by the noise level from the clubs "Voyeur" and "Woody's" across the street. The music and loud party goers congregating on the sidewalk and along the street reached the 5th floor making it difficult to sleep despite the hotel providing ear plugs. The garage across the street served as a hangout and the patrons sat and laid on the hood of the cars, making us thankful that we parked at an indoor parking garage. Unfortunately, the surrounding elements prevent The Independent from getting the full recognition it deserves, as they provide great customer service and the hotel itself was clean, comfortable and quaint. We would return provided the room does not face the front. Nick, Eric and Dan were very accommodating and understanding of our complaints; they made our stay as pleasant as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Helen L,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that the customer service you received from our staff was on par with our standards, and that our staff members were able to help make your stay as pleasant as possible. However, I am sorry to hear about your troubles with the noise from the surrounding neighborhood. Being located in the heart of center city, we are indeed within close proximity to bars, nightclubs, and late-night restaurants. I understand how this had a negative impact on your overall experience, and if you choose to stay with us again we would absolutely be happy to provide with a quieter room facing away from the street. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were completely happy with The Independent. Our room, a King Deluxe, was roomy enough with nicely boutiquey decor and a large bathroom (shower only but OK with us). Location is excellent - you can pretty much walk or cab anywhere and there are plenty of shopping and eating opportunities in walking distance. Staff is super friendly and helpful. Free wireless, mini kitchenette and breakfast are all major positives. If you want an interesting alternative to the same old chains, The Independent is definitely worth a try.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ktc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear ktc225,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am so glad we were able to provide you with an excellent experience in all aspects of the hotel, from our location to your guest room to the customer service you received. We take pride in giving our guests a memorable stay that sets us apart from "cookie-cutter" chain hotels. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stay at The Independent! You will NOT be disappointed!! Every request was met with grace and accommodation. ...and additionally, there were many unexpected "extras". It was a beautiful and quiet retreat in the middle of fun Philly!

Room Tip: super cool bathroom...room 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Leslie H,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us, and that our staff was able to fulfill all of your requests kindly and efficiently. I agree that we have many "unexpected extras" for our guests, such as complimentary gym passes and a wine and cheese reception. It's amenities like these, along with the staff's outstanding customer service and a perfect location, that distinguish us as one of Philly's best boutique hotels. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This small boutique type hotel is conveniently located about 5 blocks from Redding Terminal and the Philly Phlash line for sightseeing and also close to Rittenhouse Square and many nice restaurants. Room was lovely and clean - nice high ceilings, comfortable bed. Erik the manager was friendly and very helpful on the phone when we made our reservations and when we checked in. Price is reasonable and our rate included parking (with a trip advisor coupon) A very basic continental breakfast is delivered to the room - sufficient enough - cereal, yogurt, juice, etc. and coffee and tea always available in the lobby. A little noisy if you are on the main floor near the lobby. Other than that we highly recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 196susanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear 196susanm,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience at our hotel! It's great to know that you were able to take advantage of the fantastic amenities we offer, as well as the central location of the hotel and the outstanding customer service from Erik. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,402 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#26 of 89 in Philadelphia
588 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $152 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing