We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap Sheets, Hard Pillows and No Sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheap Sheets, Hard Pillows and No Sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I attended a trade show at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia this past week and stayed at The Independent. First, the positive thoughts. Julie at the front desk was very gracious and helpful. Also, the hotel was centrally located and it was easy to walk to the Convention Center as well as restaurants and key sights.

Now, the not so positive. The room was okay, not great. There was no luggage rack, so I put my suitcase on the chair that went with the desk. As another reviewer stated, the breakfast is adequate--choice of juices, yogurts, cereals, croissant and jam delivered to your door, however, there is really no place in the room to eat it (and I was already using the chair as my luggage rack).

The worst feature of the room, however, are the cheapest, scratchiest sheets in the world and the brick hard pillow from which I developed a crick in my neck. Also, I agree with the other reviewer that the comforter was very tired, and for the price of this room, all of these linens should be much, much better.

Finally, on the street in front of the hotel, people tend to congregate at 3:00 in the morning to apparently have rap contests with loud music, so it is extremely noisy and difficult to get sleep. At no fault of the hotel, I saw what appeared to be a prostitute soliciting a potential client in front of the hotel. I had to cross the street at different spots in the block to avoid some of the activities that seem to go on in front of the hotel. Again, no fault of the hotel, but for single women travelers like myself, you need to be careful.

I loved the location and Julie was great, and if I stayed here again, I would ask for a room not facing the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Susan P,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. I do agree with you that the duvet covers are worn. We have just ordered all new duvets for the hotel and will be changing them out as soon as they arrive. I am sorry to hear that your pillow was not comfortable. We have several different types of pillows in the hotel so if you choose to stay with us, we would be happy to bring you a different pillow at your request.

I am also sorry to hear that you found our location to not feel safe. If there are any noise issues or any activities that you perceive to be illegal near our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us right away and we will call our local law enforcement. Safety of our guests is our number one priority and we will do anything in our power to make sure our guests are at ease.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    287
    68
    31
    11
See reviews for
170
364
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked this hotel as the reviews were so good on Trip Advisor. The location was excellent. Reception was welcoming, but that was as far as it went,
We were booked into room 208, which was extremely dark with no view and no light coming in from the windows, you couldn't see the sky! only a derelict building next door. As if it wasn't dark enough there was a plastic film on the window which cut more light out. The layout of the room wasn't good, there was only one bedside table for a double bed and the bedframe was so large we kept knocking our shins on it every time we walked passed it, this was also partly due to the large chest of drawers taking up a lot of space. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee facilities in the room. You had a form to complete to choose your breakfast which had to be left outside the room by 10pm. Breakfast came in a box was left outside the door in the morning, we felt that we were in a cell, we had to sit on the bed to eat breakfast as there was only one chair. We did ask to change room, but were told that they were full, we were also told that the front rooms facing the street were noisy (if that's the case get double glazing). One of the keys also didn't work and took three attempts to programme it. The bathroom floor didn't look particularly clean and there was a small amount of mould in the shower. Apart from Eric, the staff (when they were at the desk) didn't seem to be very interested. We are not difficult to please but we were so disappointed with this hotel (see other reviews)

Room Tip: Don't choose 208, the other rooms looked bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardifftravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear cardifftravellers,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than perfect. Because room 208 is on the side of our building, it has a view of the building next door that is under renovation. Though we cannot control the unattractive view of the renovations, we did frost out the lower part of the window to make your view more enjoyable. The frost and the upper window do let light into the room, but I am sorry that it was not bright enough for your enjoyment.

I am also sorry to hear that you felt like you were living in a cell. We do not have a designated breakfast area because of the petit size of our hotel. Most guests do enjoy the hand delivered complimentary breakfast, but I am sorry if you felt like we were trapping you in your room, that was not our intention. The shower and bathroom floor have been re-treated and is beautifully white and bright now. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

I found this hotel on TripAdvisor and booked because of the great ratings and excellent hotel amenities. Overall my stay was very nice, and I recommend this hotel to business and pleasure travelers alike. It's *different*, boutique, and not another chain hotel, which is exactly what I was looking for.

What I liked was:
*The beautiful, high ceiling rooms
*Ordering breakfast and having it delivered to my room! (Free!)
*Evening wine reception (also free!) where I could meet other guests and chat
*Hotel staff who was willing to go out of their way to make my stay pleasant (restaurant recommendations AND reservations, picking up beer for the reception for a non-wine drinker, etc)
*Location- wonderful restaurants and night life within steps of the building
*Comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, Keurig, fridge & micro in my room

Now the couple of small things that were negatives, and prevented my "excellent" rating for this hotel:
*I had trouble with the TV. I have to unplug it and plug it back in every time I wanted to turn it on. My co-workers did not have this trouble in their rooms.
*Touch-switch to the bathroom light was neat, but was worn out and difficult to use.
*A knob on one of the lights in my room was missing. A small thing, I know, but irritating nonetheless.
*The sink drain was not working properly. A co-worker also had this problem in his room.

The PROs FAR outweigh the small CONs at this hotel, and I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Philly. It is a pleasant 0.6 mi walk to the convention center, so definitely consider this property for your next convention trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHMcQs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear calwes76,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am, however, sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. We did have several TV issues in the hotel, but have just replaced many of our TVs so there will be no further issues. We have also corrected the sink drain in your room along with the nob on the lamp that was missing. Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Nice big room, great beds, comfy, great eating locations around area, fabulous staff!
very accommodating! Loved the contempory design of the hotel. I stayed here on the recommendation of my sister who had stayed for business previously. Glad I did and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monroviajudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear monroviajudy,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed our neighborhood, rooms and staff! Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I travel a lot for both work and fun, ant the Independent if by far my favorite place to stay. The staff always go out of their way to accommodate all our needs. My sisters all stayed here as well and were amazed at the level of kindness, helpfulness and warmth of the staff memebers.

Room Tip: They are all unique and each room had it's own charm. Not cookie cutter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Ginger412,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am very happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and accomidating! Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently stayed at the Independent Hotel for several days. The location is ideal and the free parking was a real plus. Most of the tourist-oriented sites are easily within walking distance and there are more than enough restaurants to choose from within a reasonable distance as well. You can park your car for the entire time you are visiting and not have to deal with the traffic issues while visiting the city. Like others, we found the staff very friendly and accommodating. And, like other reviewers, we were disappointed in the breakfast. There is very little variety and the quality of the croissants, for example, is wanting. Plus, we had no table in our room where you could sit and have breakfast, so we were forced to have breakfast either on our bed, sitting on the sofa, or standing up. And, while we were staying at the hotel with other family members, we could not sit in a central location and have breakfast with them.

We always find that when we stay in hotels with breakfast included, it provides an opportunity to share stories about where to visit with other guests, get recommendations for good restaurants, and identify things to do that may be worthwhile (i.e. the city bus tours). We missed having this opportunity, but understand the limitations associated with space at this hotel. The wine and cheese reception during the week can also serve this purpose, but it was sparsely attended during our stay. The room was fine, but we had a lot of problems with our television until the last day of our visit. The shower was great. The microwave did not work at all. Overall, we were pleased with our stay. But, if and when we return for another visit to Philadelphia, we would likely look around a bit more at other hotels before deciding whether to book once again at The Independent.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jremark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear jremark,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. As of last week, we just changed our breakfast menu and added many more delicious selections to it. If you come back to see us, you will have to let us know what you think of our new menu! Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We walked all over Philly during our 2-day stay at the Independent. And when we came back to the hotel, the bed was heavenly, the staff was friendly, and there was wine before dinner. There was almost no street noise, despite the hotel's location in the midst of Center City (though we were there during the week, and it could be different on the weekend). There was a recycling "bin" in the room, which is a great addition to any hotel room. Breakfast is grain & fruit-based, but there are restaurants a block away that serve full breakfasts, if you need that. I feel like I got some much-needed rest here. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily K, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear calwes76,

Thank you for choosing The Independent on your recent visit and for commenting on your recent stay.

I am glad that you enjoyed the location and neighborhood the hotel is located in as much as we do. I am also glad that you found our beds to be heavenly! Your feedback is very important to our efforts for continuously improving guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can and comments like yours are greatly appreciated.

I've shared your comments with all of our staff and I know they are motivated by feedback like yours. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that if you are in need of a guest room, we will remain your hotel of choice.

Sincerely,
Emily Kuch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing