We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently refurbished gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Independent is a small hotel in the heart of Philadelphia. Not far from the train (you can walk it - about 10 blocks) and one of the boutique inns in Philadelphia that are cropping up all over town. Someone has spent a lot of money fixing this older building up, new paint, king sized beds, interior decorated color schemes, upgraded new baths. Generally a wonderful experience in the heart and hub of old town Philadelphia. I was in a corner room which faced an interesection. At night this can get noisy as the neighborhood is what it is, funky, city, street action. For the money though and the location the only other place I would consider is the Alexander Inn (another boutique hotel). The place is also well insulated so in spite of some street noise, you can sleep well very easily.

Room Tip: Choose something interior from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 963 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is in a central location for shopping, dining and the the arts. Unfortunately it is also located next to some clubs that close at 3-3:30am. For 1 hour after closing the noise generated from these clubs is intolerable. People screaming, horns honking for up to an hour past closing. In your a night owl and don't mind being up from 3-4:30am, this hotel will work for you. I stayed Friday and Saturday, don't know if the noise is any lower during the work week.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBofDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Got a nice sized room and comfortable bed. The complementary breakfast was at my door when I asked for it with yogurt and a granola bar - enough to get me going (there's a great breakfast place with full menu right across the street which I enjoyed after my morning run). The complimentary coffee was also a plus. The staff was helpful and pleasant. I'd stay again for work or for fun.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are beautiful and clean, beds are very comfortable, staff is amazing, wine & cheese in the lobby every night and breakfast delivered in the morning.....they think of everything! Walking distance to all the sites. Would definitely stay again on next trip to Philly!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tammy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here 8 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is convenient to both the historical sites and the theater district. The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Hotel security was excellent. I liked the 24/7 complimentary tea, coffee, beverage bar in the lobby. Very comfortable beds...a very "cozy" hotel. Even though it's very bustling on Friday and Saturday nights in the area, the rooms are quiet and filter out the noise. I live in Las Vegas so I know what a good hotel property is.....The Independent is a well-managed property and is simply a great place to stay. Staff is very customer-centric.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjssumo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very impressed with the room and the super comfortable bed. The room was very large for a boutique hotel. We walked to a fantastic restaurant and we got a voucher from trip advisor for free parking. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and hors d'ourves. The manager at check in was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was okay, fruit, juice, croissant, and yogurt. It was delivered to the room, which was nice. We did not get a chance to walk to any of the nearby destinations, but next time we are in Philadelphia we will plan to stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipr343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,396 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
585 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $137 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing