We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the independent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“the independent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are beautiful and clean, beds are very comfortable, staff is amazing, wine & cheese in the lobby every night and breakfast delivered in the morning.....they think of everything! Walking distance to all the sites. Would definitely stay again on next trip to Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tammy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    270
    61
    30
    8
See reviews for
159
345
65
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here 8 nights with my girlfriend. The hotel is convenient to both the historical sites and the theater district. The room was very nice, the staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Hotel security was excellent. I liked the 24/7 complimentary tea, coffee, beverage bar in the lobby. Very comfortable beds...a very "cozy" hotel. Even though it's very bustling on Friday and Saturday nights in the area, the rooms are quiet and filter out the noise. I live in Las Vegas so I know what a good hotel property is.....The Independent is a well-managed property and is simply a great place to stay. Staff is very customer-centric.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjssumo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale Estates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very impressed with the room and the super comfortable bed. The room was very large for a boutique hotel. We walked to a fantastic restaurant and we got a voucher from trip advisor for free parking. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and hors d'ourves. The manager at check in was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was okay, fruit, juice, croissant, and yogurt. It was delivered to the room, which was nice. We did not get a chance to walk to any of the nearby destinations, but next time we are in Philadelphia we will plan to stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philipr343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WenZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wish to say that they were kind, friendly, prompt and clean. From extra towels without asking, great shower, comfortable bed, clean, great in-bed breakfast, quiet, welcome letter, coffee and tea corner, plus water and juice, upon entering. Good size rooms, location was great, answered questions quickly. One extra piece for me was the chocolates on the desk, when checking in. Loved it! Great bar and rest. on the first floor. Elegant!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiriamMakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte. North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable. However, our room had no TV service and while the staff attempted to correct nothing was accomplished. No discount was offered for this problem. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom didn't fit. The shower head leaked. Finally there was no in room safe. There are more reasonable options in the Gaborhood such as Alexamders.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsajmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Philadelphia when Hurricane Sandy hit: all the flights were canceled, all the shops and restaurants were closed. Stranded, we suddenly had to extend our stay at The Independent. And what a terrific job they did: several members of the staff came in and stayed at the hotel for three days to make sure they could take care of guests. They brought in food and extra wine. They let us know where we could still get sandwiches. They extended our parking privileges free of charge. And they put a cheery face on everything, even as they prepared for power outages and other eventualities. After spending hours on the phone with airlines and car rental agencies that were not at all equipped to deal with the hurricane, we relished the gracious service of The Independent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi Scott,

Thank you for your kind review. While we realize being stranded during a storm isn't ideal,but I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable during the storm. I do hope next time you are in town we have better weather so you can truly enjoy all that Philadelphia has to offer.

Safe & happy travels,
-Erin Fitzharris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,751 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing