We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Independent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$133
$125
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$138
$128
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $186/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$162
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$164
$93
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveler rating
551
310
79
37
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
310
79
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiquestreet noiseeach morningwithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 998 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wish to say that they were kind, friendly, prompt and clean. From extra towels without asking, great shower, comfortable bed, clean, great in-bed breakfast, quiet, welcome letter, coffee and tea corner, plus water and juice, upon entering. Good size rooms, location was great, answered questions quickly. One extra piece for me was the chocolates on the desk, when checking in. Loved it! Great bar and rest. on the first floor. Elegant!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamMakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable. However, our room had no TV service and while the staff attempted to correct nothing was accomplished. No discount was offered for this problem. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom didn't fit. The shower head leaked. Finally there was no in room safe. There are more reasonable options in the Gaborhood such as Alexamders.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsajmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Philadelphia when Hurricane Sandy hit: all the flights were canceled, all the shops and restaurants were closed. Stranded, we suddenly had to extend our stay at The Independent. And what a terrific job they did: several members of the staff came in and stayed at the hotel for three days to make sure they could take care of guests. They brought in food and extra wine. They let us know where we could still get sandwiches. They extended our parking privileges free of charge. And they put a cheery face on everything, even as they prepared for power outages and other eventualities. After spending hours on the phone with airlines and car rental agencies that were not at all equipped to deal with the hurricane, we relished the gracious service of The Independent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hi Scott,

Thank you for your kind review. While we realize being stranded during a storm isn't ideal,but I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable during the storm. I do hope next time you are in town we have better weather so you can truly enjoy all that Philadelphia has to offer.

Safe & happy travels,
-Erin Fitzharris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here last week in October and found the staff very friendly .The location was great for sightseeing on foot.

Although our room was dark it was meticulously clean and well appointed, the shower was great and the Hershey's kisses were a nice touch.

If the Independent chain branches out into a city i was travelling to I would definitely stay in one of their hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

HI Christa,

Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted you enjoyed your extended stay with us last week. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and sharing our wonderful city with you! I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of our wine hour each day and mingle with not only our staff but your fellow travelers. I do hope you visit Philadelphia once more and join us again!

Cheers,
Erin Fitzharris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews