We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional quality, excellent service”
Review of The Independent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independent
Ranked #33 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional quality, excellent service”
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I spent 3 nights at this lovely, small hotel and loved every minute of it! Clean, spacious, artfully decorated rooms. Very quiet even though on a lively city street. Free breakfast & newspaper, complimentary wine and cheese bar on weekdays, wireless and business center and free pass to local gym. I was very pleased with all aspects of my stay! Fun neighborhood--great restaurants and bars.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mhayes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    289
    70
    32
    12
See reviews for
172
368
70
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We had a family of 5 and stayed in the queen loft suite. Plenty of beds with queen in loft and murphy bed and sofa bed in living room. Liked the decorating and amenities. The wine and cheese was lovely after seeing the sites. The friendly front desk man really made a mark on us. Breakfast items are prepackaged but still nice to have it at all. We're so glad we stayed in a neighborhood rather than in the mega hotels near Market St. Had tapas dinner at Valanni. Good food. Would love to come back to see more sites. Would stay at the Independent again. Our best price was linking from TA site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albrechtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I recently had a weekend getaway from the kids here. The hotel was a B+ but with a little effort can be an A.

When we arrived, the girl at the front desk was not very welcoming. It felt like we were an afterthought. Big miss.

The room was great but the shower stall was kind of dirty. Not what we expected.

On the plus side, the location is great. Close to everything.

We would stay again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lbinutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel with our 2 young children. The hotel was immaculately clean and the rooms were beautiful! We arrived at night and the neighborhood seemed like a safe area. We parked our car in the hotel's designated parking lot, which is across the street. We had no problems with the parking lot and felt that our car was very safe. We even felt safe enough to leave several suitcases in our car overnight. Breakfast was brought to our room in the morning, which our kids loved! Breakfast was fruit, yogurt, muffins, juice, cereal, and so on. I had read other reviews that said noise from the nightclub on the first floor could be very loud, especially if you were on the 2nd floor. We stayed on a Thursday night and had a corner room on the 2nd floor...and we heard no noise. It was very quite and peaceful. No noise from the club and no noise from the street. The location was great. Very close to all the historical attractions in downtown Philadelphia. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelMamaOf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice boutique hotel. We had the Historic Philly package which included free parking, tickets to Betsy Ross House audio tour, free tickets to carousel, mini-golf and discount coupon for Square Burger in Franklin Square. Worth it for our family of four. Location was good about a 15-20 minute walk to historic sites. Wine and cheese reception in the evening and continental breakfast delived to room in the morning was nice. Refrigerator & microwave in room was convenient. Our room was nice but on the 2nd floor at the back of the building so we would request a room on an upper floor at the front of the building if we come back to Philly.

Room Tip: Request a room looking out to the city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun4pbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Carrollton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2011

From the moment my cousin and I arrived at The Independent I had a smile on my face. We arrived a few hours before check-in, but they held our bags for us while we did some sight-seeing. But first let me tell you about Jason. Jason is a plethora of information and helped us throughout our stay. He knew all the best restaurants, which tours to take, places to see, etc. He even taught us how to ride the Trolleys, Phlash, and the subway. We had visited big cities before, but each one is different and we really didn't want to get lost!

The location of The Independent is pretty ideal. It is located in Washington Square West. Close to a Phlash stop, lots of subway lines, restaurants and sights. Philadelphia is definitely a walking city, but mass transit is pretty reliable. If you're looking for a great cup of coffee, hot or iced, look no further than Cake & the Beanstalk, a couple of blocks east on Locust.

These days, it goes without saying that hotel cleanliness is of the utmost importance. No worries here. I wanted to hire the employees to come over and clean MY house! The lobby is immaculate and welcoming and the rooms are superb.

Speaking of the rooms, (did I mention our bags were waiting for us in our room when we got back that afternoon?)we stayed in a Queen Double. I have never slept better in my life. Be prepared for a little bit of city noise (the rooms are nearly soundproof, but it is a very busy city after all). There is a modest breakfast that is served (and brought to your room!) at whatever time you choose. Fresh fruit, oatmeal, juice, among other things to choose from. you can also find fresh fruit, coffee, tea and water in the lobby. As a vegan, I appreciate healthy choices!

If I ever make it back to Philadelphia there is no question where I will be staying. The people are outstanding and my stay was absolutely perfect. Thank you to The Independent for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: Ask to stay above the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anamarie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you so much for such a RAVE review of The Independent - we're glad your experience here tops the charts for you as a traveler! Here at The Independent we find it to be paramount to our success when we've exceeded our guest’s expectations.

Our Front Desk, much like you experienced with Jason, have proven to be a wealth of knowledge for our guests while traveling to Philadelphia. We strive to provide the best, up to date knowledge, to our guests to ensure an amazing visit to the City of Brotherly Love!

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Independent is in a great location. Easy walks to a variety of restaurants and coffee shops. It is only several blocks to the theater district on Broad Street and to city hall and major shopping. Only a few blocks to Market Street with additional shopping as well as links and public transportation to Philadelphia sights like museums and Independence Hall. Close also to Reading Terminal Market. Easy to flag a cab outside the hotel.
The rooms are well appointed, are very clean. The staff is helpful and courteous and the price per room is quite competitive with the modest chair operations and a bargain compared to the "big names". Safe neighborhood.

Room Tip: Pay up front for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,343 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Rodeway Inn Center City
#49 of 86 in Philadelphia
542 reviews
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent

Property: The Independent
Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Independent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing