We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the Birds of Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #51 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1812, the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is a leading natural history museum dedicated to advancing research, education, and public engagement in biodiversity and environmental science. Visitors can enjoy four floors of interactive permanent exhibits, come face-to-face with T. rex and other prehistoric creatures in Dinosaur Hall, take a stroll in a tropical garden in the live Butterflies! exhibit, and see live animals up close during our daily presentations.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
227 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Birds of Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited specifically to see the special exhibit "Birds of Paradise" - it was well worth the trip. However, we spent so much time at all the other exhibits (had been many years since last visit), especially the Butterfly garden, that we were rushed when we finally (after several hours wherein we enjoyed other exhibits) made it to the Birds of Paradise exhibit room. We enjoyed so much, we may return for another visit before the exhibit leaves.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    118
    44
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The butterfly garden was cool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

We frequently visit the Natural Science Museums of the different cities we visit. Atlanta, Aniston, and Orlando just to name a few, so it only made sense for us to hit up Philly's. I wont say it was over the top. The volunteer in the ornithology area was actually quite pushy! But the butterfly garden was awesome. Even had a few of them land on me and the kids.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“It's like marmite, you love it or hate it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

As a Philadelphian this is another museum that is very nostalgic. We would have went here every couple of years with school and over Christmas. This museum has definitely changed since then but still has a very old school museum feel. The exhibits of the dinosaurs are still cool as always, they're dinosaurs, but the museum is quite small compared to other museums. Some visitors from larger cities may find it's not worth the money and boring but in saying that I love the place, can't beat T-Rex!! Plus the staff have always been friendly and knowledgeable which is always a plus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baconisgoodforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Natural History Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Although this museum has several areas intended solely for toddlers, my family enjoyed the detailed displays of bones and animals. If you are a frequent visitor of Natural History Museums and do not have small children, this may not be worth your time or money. If you do have small children, then this is a must.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Thadhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“So much fun seeing the dinosaurs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

I took my 2 1/2 year old grandson to the Academy of Natural Sciences and he was enthralled by all he saw. He is obsessed with T-Rex and T takes center stage at the academy. He also loved looking at the other animals on display. There is a hands on area where children can touch bones, fur, play with puzzles, sand etc.. They were also shown a live snake.
The gentleman in the gift shop was especially friendly and helpful.
It was a great outing.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marsalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing