We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Afternoon Musesum”

Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #52 of 437 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1812, the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University is a leading natural history museum dedicated to advancing research, education, and public engagement in biodiversity and environmental science. Visitors can enjoy four floors of interactive permanent exhibits, come face-to-face with T. rex and other prehistoric creatures in Dinosaur Hall, take a stroll in a tropical garden in the live Butterflies! exhibit, and see live animals up close during our daily presentations.
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Musesum”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Lots of things to see about Natural History and anamails. The displays are well done and look the same as when I was a child on a class trip---so natural and kept up. Enjoyable trip with children. Even a live butterfly exhibit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PackRatiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    120
    47
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
189 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Awesome exhibits”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I had the experience of a lifetime to learn all about dinosaurs. I was in time for the dinosaur exhibits that were at the Academy until March 30, 2014. Besides the attraction, many other sections of the museum included live butterflies from all over the world; walking into a climate controlled 86 degrees, butterflies going around in living in their replica native habitat. Step into a room before exiting to see if any clung to you before you left.
For the dinosaurs; the history, scale sized and some animated, you can't help but feel how it was in prehistoric times. The sounds they probably made, updated material on the structure of bones, the timeline all recent. Hands-on things to do, questions and answers for the whole family. Also life-size animals from bears to chipmunks in their environment. I found the museum staff to be very friendly and knowledgeable and very clean. Coat check are individual lockers-cost $.50; a cafeteria in lower level. An A+ and was not disappointed. Easy access to public transportation and location of museum. Across the way is the Franklin Institute; also a must see to visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Family Favorite Science Museum”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Academy of Natural Sciences in Philadelphia is a favorite of our family. We first discovered the museum when we stayed at the Four Seasons at Logan Square. The museum is right next to the hotel. The museum is small enough to make it easy to explore everything without taking all day. Our families favorite place in the museum is the Live Animal Care Center. The center is home to many different animals that are being cared for because they aren't able to be released into the wild or that are in need of rehabilitation. There is an area where you can view some of the animals. Our children love to watch the parrots that live there! We have seen ducks, a coati, an otter, an iguana, and even an alligator! The animal caretakers are very friendly and helpful and have always been willing to take the time to answer my son's questions. The Academy is actually the oldest natural science research institution and museum in America. It was founded in 1812 by many leading naturalists. It is a wonderful treasure that should be explored.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 530Baltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outdated”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This is probably a better attraction for families with young children but for me it wasn't worth the time and money. The exhibits are tired, dusty, and in need of renovations.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pennepasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So much to do on the weekend”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved the museum and all the hands on activities they had going (we visited on a Saturday). Staff was very friendly, and the museum had some really interesting exhibits.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing