We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very helpful for visitors”

Independence Visitor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #13 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Independence Visitor Center is the gateway to America's Most Historic Square Mile. Located in the heart of Independence National Historical Park, the official Visitor Center of the region is the exclusive location to pick up free-timed tickets to tour Independence Hall. The Independence Visitor Center also provides visitor services and amenities, including a multilingual staff fluent in nine languages, on-site ticketing to more than 60 area attractions and tours, free regional maps and brochures, comprehensive daily event listings, and free informative historical films and wireless internet access. The Visitor Center is also the primary point of orientation for the City of Philadelphia, the Southern New Jersey and Delaware River Waterfronts, as well as Bucks, Chester, Delaware and Montgomery Counties in Pennsylvania.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very helpful for visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Staff is knowledgeable and helpful in orienting to city information. Easy to buy tickets, such as the on/off trolley or Big Bus. Interesting exhibits.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill1207W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    638
    161
    23
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avondale
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cliff Notes on our beginnings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We enjoyed this site very much. There is such a range of ways to see, hear, and touch the story of our beginnings as a nation. I thought the food source a little skimpy as there aren't many places nearby.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank micahsoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roch NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun time talking with historical figures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The visitor center is spacious and has a convenient walk-up lunch counter. This building is where my favorite moments of site-seeing occurred: There were two period dressed historical characters that engaged us in conversation at different times. Colonel Frank and the man who founded the marine corps were excellent and interesting! My 9 year old son absorbed everything they had to share. They were skilled at engaging the children as well as being interesting to adults. Colonel Frank carried a case with cool items inside. I liked that they would come out of character for a moment to provide good advice for site seeing and were easy to understand. (In other historical places, actors will adhere so rigidly to character that it becomes awkward--not so with these guys). Colonel Frank would observe something my children had in their hands or were wearing and pull it into a topic for conversation. So cool. Also, my children did the Junior Ranger program and when they returned to have their packets reviewed and be sworn in, the ranger took a lot of time looking at it, talking with them, asking questions, and providing the trading cards. He was excellent. It was my favorite moment of our entire trip. After the swearing in, Colonel Frank came by and congratulated them. Loved it here!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gogoRochNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Helpful one stop shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Anything you want to do, tickets needed, can be obtained here. This is your first stop. If you were not able to get timed tickets online for Independence Hall tours, you can stop here first thing in the morning to get some of the same day ones they distribute. Do that first, then you plan your time around your time slot given.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank loribagli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great historical items and one of the best gift shops which cover all of the historical places in the area. The staff was quite friendly and helpful with suggestions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VanessaKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Independence Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing