We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”
Review of City Hall

City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$79.00*
and up
From History to Happy Hour Philadelphia Walking Tour
More Info
$30.00*
and up
Philly By Night Double Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #19 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located at the exact geographical center of Philadelphia, City Hall is perhaps the nation’s largest and most elaborate seat of municipal government, topped by the famous statue of William Penn. Located in the building's East Portal in Room 121, the City Hall Visitor Center provides the opportunity for visitors to experience this architectural treasure. Tickets for interior and tower tours are available here, as well as tickets to other city attractions, and visitor essentials including maps, brochures, souvenirs and trip itineraries.
Fairfield, CT
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

There is construction going on in and around. We weren't able to get inside but we stayed at the Ritz located next to it so inevitably ended up going through it and taking a few really nice pictures. We also had a view from the hotel room on the building at night and it was spectacular. We live in a second empire-sh style house so I'm partial to the style and architecture. I wish I could get inside but it's spectacular on the outside from below and from above. Get a hotel close to it and you'll definitely enjoy your stay in Philly. I took a few pictures, that came out nicely too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alandtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    370
    77
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Crown jewel of downtown Philly”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a stunning building and a beautiful example of Second Empire style. It took 30 years to build and is topped by a 37 ft statue of William Penn, the founder of Philadelphia. There are daily tours during the week and there is an observation deck. Call to confirm tours, I think they may only happen once a day. Well worth a visit to this city hall when visiting the city of Brotherly Love!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank VoyageConsciente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So beautiful we even bought a poster”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This building is beautiful, just beautiful especially in its setting which is central and well maybe a little pretentious. We took the tiny elevator to the top of the tower beneath Penn's statue where we had a fantastic view of the city in all directions. The trip to the top of the tower is booked through the visitor centre in the building and very limited numbers are available (from memory only 4 can fit in the lift at any one time!). We bought a poster and took it with us on the remainder of our holiday and then home with us to Brisbane, unfortunately the poster is not as good as the real thing (duh) but at least it lets us remember this beautiful building. We stayed at the Windsor Suites at Philly and had an uninterrupted view of this building, oh so lucky we were.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,745 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,520 helpful votes
“Beautiful building right in the middle of the city”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This building is amazing. The architecture is exquisite and it is surrounded by nice sculptures. The building was closed when i visited, next time I might take a tour. Close to the reading market where you can grab a good lunch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
addis ababa, ethiopia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Structure”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went in the weekend. It is a beautiful building def worth your time. It is stunning and within walking distance of many other Philly attractions. It was at one time the tallest building in the world and is still the largest municipal building in the US. Regardless of those facts .... It is a beautiful and fitting monument to this great American City. Having a read a number of books on 80s/90s Philly/Penn politics it was def worth the effort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank habeshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing