We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Las Bugambilias

Las Bugambilias
Ranked #358 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Description: Welcome to Las Bugambilias, a traditional Mexican restaurant located on South Street in Philadelphia. As chef and owner of this center city Philadelphia restaurant, Carlos Molina offers high quality, freshly prepared, Mexican food from three different regions in Mexico. The desserts at Bugambilias' are homemade on the premises, and we offer a full service bar, with an imaginative array of margaritas for your pleasure. When you come inside you will enjoy the warm ambiance found in our traditional decor, and welcoming staff.
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

So many good things to eat...the ceviche, the guacamole, the mole negro. Excellent margaritas. This place is really something special. It's small, so make a reservation. Service great, everything great. My 13 year-old son loved a mushroom soup, which is not his usual sort of thing. My daughters, 19 and 15, put away the seafood enchiladas with a vengeance. I, as always, went for the mole, which was first rate.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    30
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Woods, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stumbled Into A Delicious Meal!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had been driving around Philly and looking for a restaurant but more importantly a parking place. Finally found a place to park at the end of South Street, started walking found this restaurant! Cozy, great service, pleasant atmosphere,food was great! Chips were hot and fresh with a wonderful pico de gallo and a spicy salsa. We had the enchiladas verdes and vegetarian chile rellano. I would advise a reservation, we got in, but probably because someone did not show.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank east2west2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Was not all The Hype”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Saw this restaurant on Philly Foodies and decided to try. Love Mexican food and culture. Went there Saturday afternoon with my wife and have to say the service was below par and the food was not as expected. Maybe my expectations were too high. The chile rellenos were completely wet, never expected that. Tasted like they were frozen first. Would not recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2011goingtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Mexican This Good in Philly? Really? Really.”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

When our kids want to go out to dinner with their parents (and their parents' credit card), Las Bugambilias is their only choice. In a half-dozen meals here (that's at least 25 entrees), there have been no missteps, other than moderately overdone shrimp. Once.

Everything we've tried - the seafood, the beef, the "classic" Mexican enchiladas, has been uniformly excellent. The mole and molcajete sauces are particularly good. We finally tried some of the soups on our second or third visit, and now we're sure to order soup every time we go; everybody gets something different and spoons are reached across the table as we all share.

They make an excellent (and strong) margarita (from scratch and without those vile mixes), and mojito.

Desserts are simple - my favorite is Mexican coffee (coffee with cinnamon, brown sugar, orange rind) and butter pecan cookies.

The room is intimate (i.e., tables are small and close together) and can get loud. Service can be a little perfunctory when the place is full, but it has never interfered with our enjoyment of the food.

Make reservations if you're planning on going during prime dining hours. If you're driving, they're at the eastern end of very busy South Street, but you can usually find on-street parking if you continue past the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gjmalcyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

If you are in Philadelphia, you do not want to miss this cute little Mexican restaurant.  Located at 2nd and South St., the location is off the trolly, the food is delicious, and the ambiance is great.  Viva la Mexico!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Explore_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Bugambilias also viewed

 

Been to Las Bugambilias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing