We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #15 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This church's congregation has included Ben Franklin, George Washington and Betsy Ross.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Churches from this era in colonial times and following the revolution seem similar but worthy of a visit. This church is well maintained and accessible. Ben Franklin's grave was visible through an iron fence from the sidewalk outside the church grounds.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    213
    51
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to add to your tour of Olde City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Most travelers go to Independence Hall; check out the Liberty Bell; Betsy Ross' house etc. All great places to see. However, I always like to take my guests to Christ Church. Just a great place to tour with lots of interesting history. Hope you enjoy as much as we do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mariePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate,ma
Level Contributor
208 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great part of American History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a beautifully restored Church. There are many people who will be glad to discuss this important site with you.There is a wonderful steeple and the interior is magnificent.The outside gardens are well landscaped and the graves are memorable. Washington's Pew and Franklin's grave are always visitor favorites. There are other fine graves here though such as Robert Morris.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found this interesting, especially since it's an Episcopal church and we're Episcopalians. We didn't take the tour, just wondered around by ourselves. I hadn't known this is where Absalom Jones, the first black ordained priest in the Episcopal church, was ordained. We listened in on some of the guide's stories and they seem to be knowledgeable and interesting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ben Franklin Buried Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Pretty cool to see this. While we were standing there we heard a number of private tour guides and realized that hiring a private guide (probably at the main tourist center) is the best way to see Philly and get the full flavor of all the history!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RadioGirlFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing