We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-empted by a Wedding”
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #14 of 437 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: This church's congregation has included Ben Franklin, George Washington and Betsy Ross.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pre-empted by a Wedding”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First, the church is beautiful......historic...... And I wanted our English friends to see what we imported back in the 1700's. But low and behold, a wedding was taking place and we were like the virgins who didn't have oil in their lamps.....we were not allowed in. Have to take them for a visit to Christ Church during their next visit over the pond.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck1980_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    223
    54
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting history.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Interesting history in that local historicals rented a pew there, but otherwise a very plain church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
582 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ater going to the Christ Church Burial Grounds, we decided to visit the church as well.

Definitely a plus for Christ Church would be the volunteers working in the gift shop and out on the floor of the church answering questions and giving visitors a sense of the Philadelphia history that goes with the church.

The interior of the church has a simple, tranquil feel to it. The windows were especially beautiful. We enjoyed our visit!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where Church and State Are Not Separate”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

George Washington's pew. Where the Founding Father's attended church. They've named their pews.
Worth seeing! And not far away (within walking distance) from other attractions. A very nice church in Old City.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaoliPAresident1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Real History Inside”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

When we were there, they had just unearthed their original bell that was buried on the grounds. My kids were actually allowed to ring it and touch it. Why is this a big deal? It is an actual bell that rang on July 8th after public readings of the Declaration of Independence. Make sure and talk to the awesome staff there.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank rchs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing