We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the small things sometimes”
Review of Franklin Court

Franklin Court
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #86 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With levels above and below ground, the complex houses a theater and museum devoted to Franklin's life and inventions.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It's the small things sometimes”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a surprising gem in our visit to Philly, esp finding the Franklin Post Office and mailing ourselves (and friends) a postcard with the Franklin post mark. Franklin Court is a step back in time, and an enjoyable one at that. Can also visit the print shop, underground RR museum and more within close walking distance.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Another Piece of History!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A free walk through the history of Ben Franklin at his print shop then stop next door to the working post office and buy a Ben Franklin postmarked envelope along with information about Franklin and then mail it to yourself all for only .80 cents.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Architectural and cultural history”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

An easy place to stop in for a quick visit and learn a bit more about Philadelphia history. The preserved archaeological pit gives a nice context and the outlines of the old buildings are a postmodern masterpiece.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
849 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,587 helpful votes
“Learn About Philly's Most Famous Son”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Franklin Court was one of my favorite places to visit in historic Philadelphia when I was a kid with the old post office and museum and printing shop so I was disappointed when it was closed for renovations when I visited with my kids in the summer of 2012. While it is now open, the Underground Museum is still closed for renovations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
208 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pretty Sights in the city”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is in a nice area of the city in the old section. We really liked it to take pictures and the kids ran around after visiting Congress Hall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hcs922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Court also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Franklin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing