We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Sights in the city”
Review of Franklin Court

Franklin Court
Book In Advance
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
More Info
$79.00*
and up
From History to Happy Hour Philadelphia Walking Tour
Ranked #91 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With levels above and below ground, the complex houses a theater and museum devoted to Franklin's life and inventions.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pretty Sights in the city”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is in a nice area of the city in the old section. We really liked it to take pictures and the kids ran around after visiting Congress Hall.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hcs922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    45
    16
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Free Franklin History”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This wonderful, free of charge exhibit has wonderful furniture and musical instruments designed by or for Ben Franklin. There is a great movie shown about Franklin. There are clean bathrooms and interactive exhibits.

Helpful?
3 Thank Winkie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historic Philly”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Franklin Court was an interesting place to revisit after many years. The Printing Office was especially informative. Did not know the area was under construction.Would recommend visiting now & when the construction is completed. I didn't find out where I could get older pictures of the way the court looked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
228 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Benjamin Franklin Fan”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I don't think as many people make it to Franklin Court, but it is a highlight of Philadelphia and just as historic as The Liberty Bell and Independence Square. Franklin Court contains Benjamin Franklin's Post Office, which is still in operation today, you can send a letter from here in a special designed envelope, post marked with Franklin's signature. There are a lot of historic, artefacts to see inside and a wonderful courtyard out the back.
Take note of his signature, ( B free Franklin ) He was an amazing man and played a great role in the formation of America, it's a pity there is not someone, of he his ability today.
The Post Office is just a short walk down Market Street, from the tourist centre

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchMitch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Post Office, Printing Press, Old City Philly”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I've taken my sons on many trips to Philadelphia, mainly in the late '90's when we were studying Pennsylvania history and Early American History. Living in the suburbs of Philadelphia has been a real plus when it comes to "touching and seeing" history. The area of Old City where Ben Franklin's first post office is located is worth a visit. You can even buy stamps and mail letters with the original postmark from Franklin's day. We never went to the underground museum because there was so much to see and hear on ground level! A guide demonstrated Ben's printing press and made some sample pages using it. We were led on a tour upstairs where the tourist was able to see the "insides" of the building. If the museum is closed, there are still many things to see right in this area. Betsy Ross's house, Carpenter's Hall, Independence Hall, and the Liberty Bell, all within walking distance. Enjoy your visit to historic Philadelphia!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Franklin Court also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Franklin Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing