We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OMG History!”
Review of Independence Hall

Independence Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$140.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
Ranked #5 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Both the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution were signed in this historic building.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG History!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Go! Go! Go! So much history in a compact area.... and it was free! I loved seeing the places and hearing the stories/myths that surround this central Philly location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,175
    1,806
    533
    76
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A must see for all americans. Great place to walk around and see the history of out country. Be prepared to be approached dozens of times for guided tours

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Historic but not very interesting.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok so you see the liberty bell, you see an important place in the nations history but just not very interesting once you've checked those boxes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
487 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Superbly Run Site brings History Alive !”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Even if you've only a mild interest in American history, if you get to Philadelphia (the original Capital of the U.S.) you simply MUST visit this fascinating & superbly run venue !

Independence Hall is surely the centrepiece of a series of historic sites in the heart of the City, managed (extremely well) by the U.S. National Parks Service. You start at their Visitor Centre, which has clear user-friendly audiovisual displays, some mini-documentary films, and of course, a Souvenir Shop (a bit pricey, in our view).Park Ranger staff are pleasant & helpful, and to experience the Independence Hall tour (30 minutes long) you simply ask for a (free) ticket for the next available time (on the day we were there, there was only a 45 minute delay !)

So, passing the very famous Liberty Bell site (tours also free) we went over to the tour starting point. There's a security check, but it was done with the minimum fuss + good humour.

Having waited in line, we were admitted to an initial assembly room, where our warm and knowledgeable Ranger Guide gave us a run-down on what we were about to see, and where it all fits into the early days of U.S. independence.

The highlight of course is the signing hall - the place where both the Declaration of Independence and the American Constitution were approved and signed in the late 18th century. The hall has been restored to faithfully reflect how it was at the time and as we stood there, absorbing its special atmosphere, our impressive Guide gave a clear concise overview of the background to, and significance of, these major events in U.S. history. Questions were welcomed and well answered.

I mentioned "atmosphere" and this place has lots of it. Photography is permitted and as far as we could judge, all the visitors in our group greatly enjoyed the tour experience !

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooner10_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Need more enthused tour guides!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed seeing the place of our nations government birthplace but our tour guide to Independence Hall seemed tired and unenthused. The female tour guide (park service ranger...??) spoke softly and was barely audible. Neither tour guide told us that the Great Essentials Exhibit which was right there... had original documents on display. Graffs House where Jefferson wrote the document should have been open but we were told they are only open a couple of days during the week. Check it out before you go to see if it will be open. Liberty Bell line was long but moved rapidly enough. Enjoyed hearing the replacement Liberty Bell ringing every hour on the hour -- while strolling thru the nearby area. Did NOT see more than 3 people dressed in colonial period clothing and we were there on a Saturday. Kinda disappointing but not that big a deal. Just letting you know. Super special treat is bank building which has the original, that's right...ORIGINAL Charles Wilson Peale portraits of Presidents, Officers, key players....and you can take pictures of them...but of course dont touch the portraits. Its SUPERB! Nothing on outside of bank building alerts you to whats within....you'd think it was closed but inside its full of superb artwork. This is the bank that Andrew Jackson closed down thru his actions when he was President....the Biddle vs Pres Jackson issue. Its the building on the same side of the street as Independence Hall. I think its the Second Bank of the U.S....has HUGE columns on outside. Ask a ranger & they'll direct you. All in all it was a superb trip and we walked the whole district...(make sure you wear comfy shoes)...Best thing is its all free and they dont try to milk you! You want to soak it all in and rushing is not advised. Enter in and out as often as you please for most of the buildings. I soooo loved it! If I lived in Philly, I'd be there almost every weekend. weather permitting.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Hall also viewed

 

Been to Independence Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing