We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Philly!”

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #4 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Taste of Philly!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Admittedly my first time in, I was a bit taken aback because of the sheer amount of people crowded around, but then I realized what all the hype was about. I was overwhelmed by so many food choices! The lines were very long for any of the cheese steaks or pork hoagies, so I settled for sushi, and was not disappointed. I really liked the Amish stands, and the guy playing piano in the middle of the market. I would not recommend this market for those who don't like crowds, as it gets quite packed, but if you're looking for good food, you'll definitely find anything here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,221
    769
    124
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Feast For The Senses”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is a foodie mecca - if you visit the Reading Terminal and can not find something to appeal to your senses, you must not have any. There is something for just about everyone here, whether it be food, produce, books, etc., it’s one of the best variety markets in the city.

There are so many different types of cuisine when stopping for a bite to eat: Italian, Greek, Spanish, Thai, Indian, French, Chinese, Cajun, soul food and more. There are the requisite pizza places, such as By George. The pizza is excellent and they also have ready to eat specialty Italian foods that are sold by the pound. Others things to be had: crepes, roast pork and roast beef sandwiches, Philly cheesesteaks, gyros, turkey platters and sandwiches, Jewish deli sandwiches, fried chicken and even curry chicken.

If you have a sweet tooth, you’ll be happy you made it here: you can get Basset’s ice cream, Italian pastries form Termini’s, candies and chocolates by the pound directly across from Termini’s, the best cookies ever at Fourth 4th St. Cookies around the corner from the candy shop, cupcakes from the Flying Monkey, authentic Amish pastries, and there is a gourmet chocolate and truffle counter.

You can get anything you need for a gourmet meal, from exotic produce, fresh seafood, gourmet cheeses, several butcher counters and artisan breads.

I highly recommend visiting the Amish section of the market – most of their food is fresh and homemade. From their fresh squeezed juices, deli counter, cheeses, cakes, breads and cooked foods – all of it is delicious.
Most places do not have their own seating, but there is a seating area in the middle of the market. However, it’s very crowded during lunch hours and on Saturdays.

Not only is there food abound, but there are also other little shops that sell fresh cut flowers, gourmet honeys and housewares, jewelry and trinkets (great for souvenirs), and books.

The market is open 7 days a week, but not all of the merchants are open on Sunday.

If you drive, there is metered parking on the street, with a two hour time limit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in with family. Wow! Every kind of food I could want. Many interesting food choices that were really foodie and yummy.

Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must go in Philly!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

A must go! A great place to just walk around or get a good meal. We went the first time on a Friday and it was very easy to walk around. We went back on a Sunday and it was very packed but still fun to walk around. We ended up buying some fresh meats to take home with us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bustling, noisy market with a great atmosphere and wide choice of food”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We parked at South 10th Street for only $19 a day (12 hours) and were just round the corner from the Convention Centre, China Town and the market.

It was lunchtime and the market was busy, noisy and bustling. A great combination of stalls selling books, fruit and vegetables, flowers, crafts and materials but the market is dominated by food stalls selling street food from around the world and American classics. Not fine dining but great fun and great value. We were a large group and everyone chose something different and everyone loved what they had chosen.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RichardandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing