We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to walk around or grab lunch near the convention center.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #5 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to walk around or grab lunch near the convention center.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by the Market on a walking tour of Independence Park. Not exactly in the most savory part of town, but if you are at the convention center, it should be a no-brainer to stop by. Know that the Amish shops are closed on Sunday and Monday, which limits your options a bit. Still, some great, quick, informal dining and a few unique, fun shops as well. Lots of variety of meats, fish, and cheeses.

Helpful?
Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,955
    708
    107
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Saturday, Oct. 6th”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Too Crowded at 1pm, no seating. I ate at Wan's Seafood where the fry you seafood to order. Everything you can imagine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chinue X C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Over-all, a very nice selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

First the good.

The selections of meat, fish, cheese, produce and baked goods is outstanding. They even have some organic food. You really have to walk the entire place and then decide what you want to go back and buy. I say this because there are multiple butchers, produce markets, fish mongers, and cheese sellers. Prices and quality do vary and the best price can often also be the best product. They have a ton of food vendors, almost to many choices. It's right in China Town so they have a few pretty good Chinese places inside the market. Remember though that the Amish vendors are not there on Sunday. Some places don't open for business on Mondays either. .

Now, the not so good.

Getting there can be challenging unless you know your way around the city. If you rely on a GPS, make sure it's up to date. The roads are always changing and construction can pop up at anytime. If you go to their website, they list the address of the discount parking lots nearby. $4 for 2 hours with validation and a $10 purchase. Be careful though, I parked at a non discounted lot the other day and parking was $19 for 3 hours. That made my $40 worth of purchases cost 50% more. Stay away at lunch time especially on Fridays, unless you like wall to wall people and waiting in lines.

All in all a worthwhile experience, if you like old fashioned markets. Did I mention that they have a bar that offers local micro-brews?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quite an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

When you walk into the market it just takes by surprise. So much food of so many different varieities. From Seafood, to meats, to cheeses, to bakery. All within your reach. I can truly understand someone who works downtown, calling home to say "be home soon. Stopping at the market". You can purchase all kinds of fresh foods. We saw fresh shrimp as large as a trout! Just walking through is an experience.
There are also so many places to purchase foods to eat. Unfortunately we were there at lunch hour and of course all of them had huge lines (which moved somewhat steadily). There was a group of us and I truly couldn't even tell you what place we purchased our lunch as a couple decided to get in line and we just followed like sheep. Must admt, very good choice. Most had burgers or some type of sandwich while I opted for a small order of mac/cheese and corn bread. Small is a bit different by their math. It was very generous and quite delicious. But the corn bread......OMG. Out of this world!
Afterward we headed toward the front of the bldg to the oldest ice cream stand and gave in to ordering small scoops of ice cream. There are so many I can't even begin to go into them. Bassets is the name.
We all thoroghly our visit there and were happy one of the group had read about it or we wouldn't have had such a fun experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank girlfriends2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must must for foodies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

You won't know what choose as the choices are so wonderfully varied and from our experience excellent in food. This no-national chain food emporeum including actual fish mongers and butchers is a sight just to experience but do eat at your choice, whether corned beef, Philly steak, Cajun, burgers, oriental. You name a cuisine it has to be there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank The3ofus60614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing