We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food of All Kinds in a Bustling Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reading Terminal Market

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #5 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious Food of All Kinds in a Bustling Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Reading Market in Philly is a bustling hub for a wide variety of high quality food vendors. You will find everything from fresh seafood to burgers to salad bars and more. The atmosphere is pulsing with people in search of something delicious, so be prepared to spend a little time checking everything out. I went for something simple and found a delicious burger. Others in my group sampled a tasty salad bar, sandwiches and seafood. Be sure to pay a visit to the Amish vendors who offer a large selection of homemade fudge and candy. This is not the place for a quiet sit down -- but you will find plenty of chairs and barstools available as you enjoy your meal. Prices are reasonable and the place is fun. The Reading Market is ready to please everyone's appetite!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MySunsetProse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,955
    708
    107
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best markets in the States”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Make sure to visit the Dutch Eating Place for an amazing breakfast...they're only open Wed-Saturday.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank CrazyFoodieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield,MA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Market-In Philadelphia? Don't miss it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you are near Center City in Philadelphia, as I was while attending a convention recently, be sure to stop by this gem which is an indoor "farmer's market." Need a cookbooK? Stop here. Need some lunch? Find a seat at one of the many food provision booths and you will find many many kinds of food to eat, Greek, Deli, Italian, etc. cheeses and great confections as well . The chocolates and Italian pastries and ice cream will tempt you for sure but there are also several attractive market areas with fresh fruits and vegetables. Great to buy for your hotel room if you have a refrigerator and need those in between snacks of the healthy variety. Lots to find for gifts to take home as well.
I had a really great corned beef sandwich and a soda for an affordable price at a booth that was staffed by Amish folks and there is an Amish owned section of the market apparently.
As a bonus---at one end of the market there is an information booth with brochures about the Philadelphia area and a helpful map of the Reading Terminal Market. Grab one to stay oriented as you wander among the 80+ booths..

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baglady061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Love, love, love Reading Terminal Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

I was in Philadlephia in March for a conference that took place at the Philadlephia Convention Center. The market is a block away. Usually food available for purchase at convention centers are overpriced and not very good. Luckily, we had the choice to go to the market. In fact, I was there at least once a day every day of the conference! I recommend Termini's Bakery for the best cannoli I have ever had. There are all kinds of choices of food-very fresh. Many Amish offerings as well. I wish that the market was closer to where I live!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank weezlikestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Level Contributor
169 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“It's a little mind boggling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

There are so many food options in this place, it's a little disorienting.

I've eaten here a few times and I now know the places that I have tried and liked, but there are so many others.

What happens too often is that we will go here and wander and say "I want to go back to that place that had the <something>" and it is so large that we can't find it again! These days, we just pick up what we want as we go by. We end up with too much food, but we take it back home and snack on it later.

Just a great place to go and sample a wide variety of what Philly has to offer.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank davechri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing