We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a farmers market in Center City......”

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
More Info
$899.00*
and up
Private Philadelphia and Amish Country Day Trip from New York
Ranked #4 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Glassboro, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Like a farmers market in Center City......”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Reading Terminal Market has been in business for many years. I remembered visiting there as a child and just recently had a chance to stop in again. There are many different vendors located in the market which is now under the Pennsylvania Convention Center which took over the buildings which were part of the old Reading Railroad terminal in Philadelphia. Some of the vendors offer full course meals while others specialize in one item such as fresh fruit or home baked cookies. I chanced upon a sale of fresh baked chocolate chips from one of the vendors for $1/cookie which was too good to pass up. I recommend the Reading Terminal Market to anyone visiting in Philadelphia, especially if you are coming to the Convention Center.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank kjm3579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,337
    797
    134
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great market- a must to visit”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We really enjoyed the food selection - there is something for everybody! We found people working there nice and friendly. The ambiance was great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank GenLag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Clean city market. Great for young kids and parents alike. Similar to other large city indoor markets. Would definitely recommend. Perfect for families that have different tastes - something for everyone!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven...”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

If I closed my eyes, I could imagine I was back in one of my favorite places on Earth...Grand Central Market in NYC. A local friend steered me toward this highlight of our visit to Philly. A historic farmer's market in the city center, Reading Terminal Market is crammed with specialty food vendors making it nearly impossible to narrow down a meal. Deciding on dessert, however, was no problem whatsoever...a strawberry, walnut & Nutella crepe from Profi's Creperie.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank WanderingEXHousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food Overload”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I could spend all day just wandering around Reading Market looking at the all the various food stands and eating. The freshness of the food is amazing. Knowing we would stop at the market on a recent trip to Philadelphia I packed a cooler and managed to fill it with homemade sausages and unusual cheeses and produce.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DCRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing