We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone should have access to a market like this”

Reading Terminal Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
Ranked #4 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Featuring over 80 concessions, this historic market has something for even the most eclectic of tastebuds.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyone should have access to a market like this”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a great place for lunch! If I lived near enough, I'd shop there all the time, such great artisinal stuff!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank LouHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,224
    769
    124
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chocolate organs--the perfect gift for your science friends”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I went to the Reading Terminal Market because I had heard about the roasted pork sandwich from DiNic's. I loved the market for all the different shops there--truly something for everyone. I went once at about 4:00 pm on Wednesday and it was busy but not super crowded (the Pennsylvania Dutch stalls were closed though). I went again at 1:00 pm on Friday and everything was open, but it was so crowded I coudn't walk through easily, so pick your time. At 4:00 DiNic's had run out of greens but I could order a sandwich easily. At 1:00 the line was so long I would never bother. I loved the chocolate stall that sells chocolate hearts, brains, kidneys, and noses (also a chocolate cheesesteak). I brought some kidneys back to my colleagues in the hospital. Also check out the bakery that sells the cake equivalent of turducken--a cake with pumpkin pie baked in the bottom layer and apple pie baked in the top layer. I regret that I was too full to try a piece!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Baltimorefilmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Great places to get a bite to eat. Try the home made ice cream!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank mc2wv0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed nearby at the Loews, and stumbled upon this place by accident on the first day. What a great place to eat. We tried both a deli and a breakfast spot who's motto was start your day the Amish way. Breakfast was fantastic. One of the best places we found in Philly.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank PeteCav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional variety of foods! Heaven for foodies!”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

An unbelievable collection of fresh food vendors in this marketplace! The busyness creates a nice vibe within the building!! Don't know how long it would take to try all this food but would love the challenge!

If you're not comfortable with crowds, this is a busy location where you'll be in tight quarters with lots of strangers! :D

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank qstylez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reading Terminal Market also viewed

 

Been to Reading Terminal Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing