We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice to see”

Liberty Bell Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Philadelphia and Amish Country Day Trip from New York
More Info
$150.00*
and up
Historic Tour of Philadelphia in English or German
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #15 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Though it can no longer be rung, the bell remains a lasting American symbol of freedom.
baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice to see”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to Philly just for a day trip and we chose to go see the liberty Bell. It was free and a nice little history lesson. Don't be afraid of the long line when you walk up to the facility it moves pretty quickly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank hafaithve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,601
    1,137
    514
    71
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quick moving line”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were intimidated by the long line that seemed to wrap around the building, but we waiting only 20 minutes and were able to get in and out easily.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MeganC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
237 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Poor rating due to long long long lines”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

You must arrive VERY EARLY to start standing in line at the Liberty Bell. We arrived around 9:00am to see a line stretching from the door down the walk and around the corner. It was a hot day and the sun was beating down on the people in line. We had two small children with us and it appeared the line ws not moving. We couldn't risk it and decided to come back later. We toured around and came back hours later to find the line LONGER! We left again and came back after closing to see the bell through the window...there was even a line to do that! The bathrooms in the brick building across the grass area are FILTHY, people we treating it like a trucks top bathroom. Piles of dirty toilet paper covering the floors, urine on the floors. The stench was horrible and I cannot unsee the things I saw in there! If you gotta go...cross the street to the visitors center and use the bathrooms there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Iconic”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Once you pass through security (which could be greatly improved) you have simple yet memorable exhibits to view before you reach the Liberty Bell. In essence they are all reminders that you will be seeing just an old cracked metal bell that has grown into one of the greatest symbols of liberty.
Great leaders and historic movements have used the bell as a rallying cry for freedom and now you have the opportunity to see this icon - and yes, click away your photos. Some found it profoundly emotional. It commands dignity and respect

Details - Long line, but constantly moving. No ticket necessary. After 3 pm, the hundreds of school children appear to return to their buses and the line shortens drastically.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoWithStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“American History Must-See Place!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is really fantastic to see how the history of the US was created in this place... Apart from Liberty Bell, there are also remainders of the old walls of the original building. Even though we are not from the US, it was great for us to see the place, the bell with the whole expositionm the architecture and the square. You may face a long queue in the summertime though, so be prepared or look for online booking option (I'm not sure though if it exists, we did not check it).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tadeusz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Bell Center also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Bell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing