We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

Liberty Bell Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Philadelphia and Amish Country Day Trip from New York
Ranked #16 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Though it can no longer be rung, the bell remains a lasting American symbol of freedom.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was really surprised how much I enjoyed seeing the Liberty Bell. We had time before we could enter Independence Hall, so we decide to wait in line to see the Bell. I hadn't realized how many important political figures from around the world had gone to see it. It is a symbol for more than just Americans for the freedom of all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,549
    1,103
    507
    70
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Liberty Bell is a must-see attraction in Philadelphia's historic district”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This building houses the Liberty Bell at one end. You have to pass through a security check where they will check your bag before being allowed into the building.
The line waiting to get outside looks daunting but it moves very quickly. Come late in the day for a shorter wait.
If you can't wait in line, go to the end of the building and you can get a good view of the bell through the window.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Have to visit this once in your life!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really amazing....sad that it has to be so enclosed since 9/11 but a great thing to see with your kids. Very informative and the family learned a few things walking through the visitor's center. Close to Independence Hall so it is easy to do both in one visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank XersizeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An Exciting Photo Moment”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Good historical site and interesting conversation piece. Very informative and lots of readable material. A nice walk through. Photo taking allowed at Liberty Bell.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You have to see the Liberty Bell--what a photo op!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is one sight that I always take visitors to see. The pavilion is between the visitors center and Independence Hall so it;s easy to do everything in one visit. I love watching people waiting patiently for their chance to have their picture taken with the bell. It's a real connection with history.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rosielopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Bell Center also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Bell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing