We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum! Best fish tacos ever!”
Review of Jose Pistolas

Jose Pistolas
Ranked #335 of 4,390 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yum! Best fish tacos ever!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped in at Jose Pistolas for a meal and a bar atmosphere. Great 80's/90's disco music, US-Mexico World Cup qualifier on tv....unique beer choices on tap. Had tuna tacos that rocked my world...and followed up with melt-in-your-mouth churros. Wow. Would return here again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Just drinks”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped in for just drinks. My one concern, the restrooms are on the 3rd, somewhat dark and a bit scary, floor. Drinks were cold, prices were good. A nice neighborhood bar. We were told by some of the regulars to come back again to eat, and we will :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Playswdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer, great food and a great time.”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

The nachos are the best in the city. My favorite is the grouper tacos. They have beers you don't see in other bars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pops2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Deutschland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Did not expect it, but the food was awsome”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The place looks a bit shaggy when you enter. And just reading the menu might make it difficult to chose something. So better look around and see what others order to get an idea on the disches and portionsl. We were a group of six and shared two Nacho platters as starter (more than enough!). Everthing tasted great.
My American colleagues said it was pretty expensive, but for us Europeans it was quite okay (dinner including a couple of beers and a tequila shot for round about 35 EUR incl. tip)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Too Expensive”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Jose Pistolas has a beautiful building but the prices are ridiculous.
Tip: if you or anyone you know can't do stairs, DO NOT go here... bathrooms are on the 3rd floor.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AJay503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Pistolas also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Jose Pistolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing