We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, modern French cuisine (and BYO!)”
Review of Bistro 7

Bistro 7
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 7 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #316 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Center East
Cross street: Market
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious, modern French cuisine (and BYO!)”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

There wasn't anything NOT to love. The food was nicely presented and delicious. Escargot and melt-in-your mouth gnocchi appetizers followed by perfectly cooked skate and duck great entrees. We skipped dessert, but even the coffee was terrific. The restaurant is long and very narrow, and we were seated on second floor which had uninteresting decor/lighting, yet between service, company and food, didn't notice after first impression. Also, with full restaurant, the noise level did not interfere with conversation, always a big plus.

Helpful?
Thank clemence_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    26
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“nice place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

located on 3rd st in Old City Bistro 7 evokes a quiet little French Bistro. Went during resturant week with 3 courses for $35. My beet salad was superb, the lamb was good but when its a tagine it's difficult to tell if it was lamb..just me....i'm sure it was. Desserts were great. Service very good. Prices normally a bit high but it's a BYOB so that will cut down expenses. Rated in the top 50 of Philly resturants so worth a shot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joegrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decor is Minimal But There Are Compensations”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The food and service make this little byob very worthwhile. The menu appears to be a bit fussy; my lady friend had a hard time choosing a meal since she viewed the choices as too complicated with too many ingredients. BUT when the choices were served, she scarfed them down. Too complicated, too many ingredients turned out to be subtly delicious and some of the menu items are not commonly seen in Philadelphia (my skate entree was terrific). Portions are adequate without giving the sensation that size is more important than quality. The welcome from the owner/chef and wait staff adds to the pleasure of the food. I've eaten here a dozen times over the past few years and never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jagman8f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went with a large group and it was amazing. We had amazing service and the food was finger licking delicious!
Its BYO and that was nice.
I recommend for everyone!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashyo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh Food Cooked to Perfection in Old City Restaurant”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This BYOB restaurant doesn’t look like much from the outside—in fact, we walked right past it. Apprehensive, we looked in the store-front window and saw white tablecloths. A good sign…so ventured in. My Washingtonian friend, a self-styled gourmet, decided we should order the tasting menu. The appetizer-types were inventive, heirloom tomato tartar, green vegetable gazpacho and a beetsicle. My favorite was the crispy, but not deep fried to tastelessness, beer batter-fried soft-shell crab. My friend favored the pan-seared jumbo sea scallops. All the food was meticulously cooked, presented and served by a professional waiter. Warning: don’t spoil your appetite with an aperitif before dining. Pace yourself, this is serious dining. Not too noisy for conversation—with this menu you’ll have plenty of it. Price was right.
A large vase of flowers somewhere would have transformed this Old City Bistro into a Parisian Bistro.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dariakaritinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 7 also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Bistro 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing