We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fab”

Eastern State Penitentiary
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Philadelphia 3-Combo Tour: Hop-on Hop-off, Eastern State Penitentiary, and...
Ranked #3 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Eastern State Penitentiary Historic Site was once the most famous and expensive prison in the world, but stands today in ruin, a haunting world of crumbling cellblocks and empty guard towers. Known for its grand architecture and strict discipline, this was the world’s first true “penitentiary,” a prison designed to inspire penitence, or true regret, in the hearts of convicts. Tours today include the cellblocks, solitary punishment cells, Al Capone’s Cell, and Death Row.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a must do whilst in Philadelphia, this is really really interesting and eerie too. Well worth a visit

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank manickpixies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,941
    1,172
    201
    43
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I enjoyed the audio tour and liked that I could go at my own pace without having to follow a guide. There is some interesting information and history around the place. Looking forward to going back for terror behind the walls!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EB0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome time”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Did this last weekend for the third time and must say it gets better each time. The actors do a fantastic job, the Ghost Bus is a lot of fun and the houses and prison itself are definitely creepy. Highlights of TBTW are the last 3 houses (Infirmary, 3-D Experiment and Night Watch).

Also, take the daytime tour as well. Scary during the day and lots of history as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank thwingfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Haunted House”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were there for the Terror Behind the Walls, not the regular tour. It was awesome! At first the high price annoyed me, but it was worth it. I don't want to give too much away (the suprise makes it better), but they put a tremendous amount of effort and money into this, and it shows. Scary enough for me to consider making a break for it, but not scary enough for me to actually do so. (Disclaimer: I'm a scaredy cat. My husband was not scared, but he also had a great time.)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
XENIA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You have got to see this.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took the self guided tour through this old Penitentiary and it's amazing. The information given was informative and you could hear actual accounts from the former prisoners and some of their experiences while incarcerated there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KMP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern State Penitentiary also viewed

 

Been to Eastern State Penitentiary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing