We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Horrid But Could Do Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Hope
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not Horrid But Could Do Better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

Basically cornered into staying at this hotel due to a business meeting, it wasn't quite as bad as anticipated -- but I would not stay there by choice as there are many other -- and less expensive -- options.

Nutshell: they are really trying, but need to pay attention to the finer details and keep staff informed & cordial to have the experience equal to the cost of a room.

Longwinded version: While the renovations have somewhat refreshed the rooms (and the new beds really ARE comfy), an air of dinginess & neglect still comes through. For example, there is a windowed seating area near the elevators on the sleeping room floor where my room was and there was trash there for the 2-1/2 days I stayed -- housekeeping obviously does not go near the windows or they would have seen the empty snack bags and crumbs. My floor was noisy as it seems there were a couple of rooms of high schoolers down the hall (weeknight!) who went up & down the halls and slammed doors at all hours. Also, about 9:30 PM on Sunday, there was all kinds of noise (seems they were doing some upkeep and sound traveled throughout the building -- why non-emergency maintenance at that time, who knows).

Upon arrival, 2 room lamps & 1 lamp in the bathroom did not work. I managed to fix the desk lamp; by the next day (without asking -- thank you housekeeping!) the bathroom light was fixed. The floor lamp, however, had a loose socket, no bulb (and it was still plugged into the wall). And it was good the bathroom light was fixed -- close the shower curtain and feel like you're bathing in a cave it's so dark!

Room service took longer than expected (over an hour for a club sandwich) but food was good (extra charges added on were ridiculous -- just make the sandwich $15 bucks & call it a day!) and kitchen called up to make sure everything was all right.

The Front Desk people were quite pleasant but need to be more informed about the area, including their parking garage (which is really a public garage for the nearby offices).

Concierge was 50-50 -- one staffer was insolent and it seemed as though people bothered him; another staffer went above and beyond in providing information.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kdonnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    783
    594
    292
    215
See reviews for
446
494
133
923
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

We went priceline for our visit to Philadelphia, and ended up with the Sheraton in center city. Surprisingly, the staff was great, and the room was clean. Sometimes, downtown Phillie has the rep of being dirty and unfriendly. The Sheraton was great. The beds were comfortable and a great location. We were sight seeing and going to the Phillies game. The Sheraton has easy access to downtown Philadelphia, as well as highways 676 and I-95. I would not recommend the hotel's breakfast. It cost two of us $35 for dried out french toast. The next day, the staff recommended Yanny's, which is on Cherry, just two blocks from the hotel. Yanny's gives you a traditional Philadelphia breakfast that is quick and at a great price.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Hotel parking expensive
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed here 4/14/07 to 4/18/07 while husband was attending APA conference at the PA Convention Center.

Check in on 4/14 was smooth. Arrived at 2:45 p.m. and advised King non-smoking was not ready, but if we waited 10-15 minutes, we could be accomodated. Sat near the counter and at 3 p.m., we were checked into a King non-smoking room.

We were on the 22nd floor, room 2218. The room was clean. It was spacious. The bed was comparable to other Sheratons. The room appeared recently remodeled and the furniture was in good shape. As mentioned by others the $900 Herman Miller Aeron chair is an excellant touch. I think my husband would have taken that chair home with him if he could have fit it in his suitcase!

We found the hotel employees to be extremely friendly and helpful. The concierge employees were particularly nice and went out of their way to offer assistance. The maids were also fine. Our room was cleaned each day and restocked with amenities, clean glasses, towels, etc. Oddly, we also were never given a 2nd roll of toilet paper, but fortunately we did not need it.

We did not use the facilities, but I did go take a look at the gym & pool. The hotel has 8-10 treadmills/trainers, etc. with televisions. There is also a racquetball court and room with weights. The pool is bigger than a lap pool, but small. It's 4.5 feet deep with three "lanes." The max number allowed is 15. There were also changing rooms, but I did not look at them.

We ate at the Terrace restaurant. The prices are comparable to what you'd expect at a hotel. $13 for a 1/2 pound bacon cheeseburger & fries. I had the onion soup ($6) and a BBQ chicken quesadilla ($9) - both were absolutely delicious.

We also used the SPG club on the 22nd floor. At breakfast, coffee, a cappucino/latte machine, juices, milk, soda, water were available, as well as bread, bagels, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. as well as oatmeal. We did stop by the evening reception with the usual hor'deurves, including hot ones, and a honor bar for alcohol. The hostess was very nice and just asked you sign in with your gold or platinum status.

  • Liked — Very nice staff.
  • Disliked — Location not near historical sites.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenni5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed at the Sheraton during our recent visit to Philadelphia. It was fine for the money, however they really need to improve their housekeeping skills. The housekeeper did not leave an extral roll of toilet paper, and the roll was almost empty when we left for the day. Also, they didn't leave any face cloths. Housekeeping took awhile to respond, but to their credit the hotel was very busy with a conference. Overall it was fine. I would stay there again. Their restaurant is very pricey, and not worth the money.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl22Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. America
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

This property wasn't terrible however we had a much better experience here when this place was a Wyndham. The staff screwed up big time. They sent us to room 1924 but that room was occupied. Then we went back down and they assigned us to room 2024. As we were walking away from the desk, they had realized that room was occupied and they called us back. Now we were in room 1413. The rooms haven't changed since the place was a Wyndham, but the cleanliness has declined. Talk about dust mite heaven. The closet door was hard to open and really squeaky, it needed some oiling. I will say I enjoyed the view, being up so high. But that doesen't make up for the lack of cleanliness and declining condition of the place. The hallways were starting to look ratty and there were old roomservice trays outside room doors, making the hall smell. The terrace restaurant in the lobby used to charge $12 for an all you can eat breakfast buffet. Now Sheraton charges $22. Totally not worth it. This place wasn't terrible but Wyndham did a better job running the place.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The cleanliness of rooms and stupidity of staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanCityFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

Stayed at this location for four days for business. We checked into our room and unpacked our things, and went to iron some clothes to wear for the evening. As I unfolded the ironing board, a roach crawled out from the underside of it. We called down to the front desk and they said they would send a bellman up to move us. He arrived at our door, handed us the key to our new room, and left.

Our new room was two floors up. That night about 10:30PM we went to bed - but didn't get to sleep until after 1AM because there was a construction crew working on refurbshing the rooms directly above our heads until 1AM. We finally called the front desk at 12:30PM and that is what finally made the noise stop. The noise from the construction resumed at 6AM.

For either incident, there were no apologies.

  • Liked — conference facility site
  • Disliked — dirty, loud, understaffed
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fiddldd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and was quite nicely surprised. I was expecting something awful, based on some of the reviews, but have no serious complaints. In fact, it was quite nice. This is an older property that has evidently undergone some renovations. My room was large and very comfortable, on a high floor with a beautiful view overlooking the dome of the church next door. The room was obviously redecorated in the last several months. Everything looked fairly new from top to bottom. The bed was quite comfortable and all the furnishings were contemporary and nicer than I'd have expected from a Sheraton. The Aeron chair at the desk was a nice touch, too. Staff was courteous and helpful, and didn't think twice about giving me an extra-late check out when I requested it, since I was leaving on an evening flight. My only criticism is that the hot water in the shower didn't get very hot at peak showering time, around 7:30 am. It wasn't cold, but just wasn't hot enough to be totally comfortable. When I showered later in the day, there was no problem.

  • Liked — Clean, contemporary furnishings, very comforable room
  • Disliked — Hot water at peak shower time needs to be improved
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel
Address: 201 North 17th Street, 17th & Race Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown hotel is near the Franklin Institute, the Convention Center, and many corporations. We have 757 guest rooms, free wifi, and 38 meeting rooms/58,000 sq ft of event space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel
Sheraton City Center Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing